07/20/23 Browning to Marias Pass - Training Ride - CycleBlaze

07/20/23 Browning to Marias Pass

Heart 0 Comment 0

My tent was sopping wet with condensation when I woke up. I made a half hearted attempt to let things dry out before stuffing it all away and setting out. My plan for breakfast was East Glacier, 13 miles away, and I started pedaling immediately in the wrong direction. It was just about 4 miles into the ride, while I was imagining pancakes a single digit distance away when I looked at the map and realized I was on the wrong road. Not an alternate, just plain wrong and leaving me no choice but to backtrack and start over. Which made me grumpy and too late to order breakfast, settling for a burger to start the day. I hung around a park in East Glacier for a while, drying out and stitching up my tent. I was pleased with how well the repairs turned out, it might actually hold. I bought some bread and spread and a few other items and then rode up to Marias Pass where I camped at the top of a long decent. 

One final look back at the prairie
Heart 2 Comment 0
Don’t see much of Joe out here
Heart 0 Comment 0
Oil trains
Heart 1 Comment 0
Arriving at East Glacier, out of the Great Plains and back in the Rocky Mountains
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Riding US 2 out of East Glacier. The real scenery is all to the north
Heart 0 Comment 0
Stopping here for the night
Heart 1 Comment 0
Handiwork
Heart 0 Comment 0
The signs say watch out for grizzly bears
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 33 miles (53 km)
Total: 2,483 miles (3,996 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0