07/15/23 Stanford - Training Ride - CycleBlaze

July 15, 2023

07/15/23 Stanford

The air today was at least as bad as yesterday, and even if it weren’t I’d have stayed, as I’ve stumbled onto the biggest weekend in central Montana. In addition to the rodeo on Sunday there is a barbecue, music festival, art auction, street dance and several class reunions, including the Class of ‘73 holding their 50th.  I’m Class of ‘73 myself, and we’ve got a certain look.   All day people would greet me like they were sure they knew who I was but couldn’t quite place me.  It also seems that I’m a dead ringer for Vance, who owns a ranch up over that way and generally comes to these things (but doesn’t wear shorts) and that’s led to some interesting conversations.  The rodeo proper, with the roping and bucking and all isn’t until tomorrow, so I’m sticking around for that. 

Different bands played throughout the afternoon
Heart 0 Comment 0
One of the bands was fronted by the auctioneer and was especially good
Heart 0 Comment 0
Kids practicing roping before the start of the stick horse rodeo
Heart 0 Comment 0
Artists bring nearly completed pieces and finish them in a race against the clock.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Initially it was just a quick draw competition, starting with blank canvas, but doing it this way produces better art and much higher bids in the auction that follows
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The auction brought in over $70K, to be put to completing the new fairground facilities
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0