07/14/23 Lewistown to Stanford - Training Ride - CycleBlaze

July 14, 2023

07/14/23 Lewistown to Stanford

Topography was flatter than the elevation profile suggests. Today’s friction was wind and smoke
Heart 0 Comment 0

Al gave me a ride to Eddie’s Corner, the intersection where I turned east on US 87 to Lewistown four days ago. That spared me a 20 mile backtrack and allowed for a leisurely departure in the morning.  We said our goodbyes and I started pedaling into a stiff headwind which never relented.  It was a slow grind, and all the while the air thickened with smoke from the Canadian wildfires, obscuring the horizon. This is the first smoke of any note which I’ve encountered in weeks, and it got worse as the day progressed.  With running eyes, a dull headache and my chest feeling like I’d smoked a pack of cigarettes I called it a day at the first opportunity, the Double B RV Park in Stanford. And lucky me I’m just in time for the CMR Stampede happening right next door in the newly rebuilt fairgrounds. I’m sticking around tomorrow for the rodeo and letting the air clear. 

I hadn’t gone a mile from Eddie’s Corner when I saw eastbound cyclists approaching. There’s a popular northern cross country route which I know but never think about because it’s always “way up north”. There was a bit of an “oh, gee” moment when I realized I’d merged with the Northern Tier
Heart 0 Comment 0
Gary (77) and Lois (71) are riding from Seattle to their home in South Carolina via Boston. They had to rent a car to get through Glacier National Park.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Oil cars in the gloom
Heart 0 Comment 0
I didn’t feel the weight of the prairie today, there were frequent little towns like this
Heart 1 Comment 0
No place really to stop and take a break, I ate lunch standing on the side of the road
Heart 1 Comment 0
Gloomy skies
Heart 1 Comment 0
Nasty air today
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Stanford appears
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Settling in here for a day while the smoke clears
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 28 miles (45 km)
Total: 2,254 miles (3,627 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 1
George MercerHi Dave. We had a SeedCorps alumni get together yesterday. I shared some of your trip photos with Amber and Ashley. Be safe out there.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago