07/04/23 Jeffrey City to Lander - Training Ride - CycleBlaze

July 4, 2023

07/04/23 Jeffrey City to Lander

Heart 0 Comment 0

Both Spencer and I were up at 4:30 for a 5:30 departure, again to beat the wind.  I arrived at 1:30, too late for the parade. It was cold and gray all day, never above 60. Doesn’t feel like July. Temperature aside, it was another day of pleasant riding with smooth roads and few cars.  After setting up in the park I went into town to wait until it was time for the rodeo, found a bar. Spencer found the same bar a bit later and soon after that it began raining. We abandoned the idea of going to the rodeo in the rain and shared a pizza instead. There was a break in the rain long enough to ride back to the park and crawl inside my tent. 

People have been setting off fireworks all over town, the sound is non-stop. The noise is insane right now. The rain is beating down on my tent and the fireworks are still going strong in spite of the rain. It was calmer in the bar than it is out here. The fireworks have been going off for hours, I’m starting to twitch. 

Leaving Jeffrey City
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
At this time of day the road belongs to me
Heart 1 Comment 1
Rich FrasierWhat a beautiful shot! I love it!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Really?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I got in too late for the parade
Heart 0 Comment 0
Free camping at the Lander City Park
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 61 miles (98 km)
Total: 1,837 miles (2,956 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0