06/21/23 Del Norte to Salida - Training Ride - CycleBlaze

June 21, 2023

06/21/23 Del Norte to Salida

Figured out how to embed an interactive map instead of a screenshot!
Heart 1 Comment 0

The RV park had several cyclists staying there, all but me riding the Continental Divide Trail. Most riding north, but some heading south, in a race. One guy left Banff 13 days ago, which is just incredible. 

No racer I, but I knew I was biting off a big chunk with Salida my goal, 83 miles away. In my mind it was still all downhill from Wolf Creek Pass, but in reality it ends with a climb over a 9000 foot pass at mile 70, so it was going to take some time.  I was determined to get to Salida and sleep in a motel because my air mattress sprang a leak last night and I woke up lying on the cold ground. I need a bathtub to fix the leak. I also want to see what, if anything, I can do about my leaking gearbox, so I booked two nights. I’ll probably be done by noon, but I need the space to think and having an entire day free will give me that. I just got my $500 New Mexico We’ve Got Oil And Gas Too bonus and I’m feeling flush. I’m not overly concerned about the leak, the bike is running fine and it can go for a long time on no oil, but it needs to be addressed and is a pain in the ass. So I plan to start that process tomorrow. Apparently the fact that the Pinion distributor is just over the hill isn’t relevant. It’s just a place that ships gearboxes but doesn’t actually service anything. Which is a relief, I really didn’t want to cross back over so soon. 

Seen on the way out of Del Norte
Heart 0 Comment 0
Not a lot of pictures. Rode through the San Juan Valley all day, a 7500’ high desert that looks to be mostly cattle ranching
Heart 0 Comment 0
Passed the 38th Parallel. I always imagined Korea further north
Heart 0 Comment 0
My phone agreed. I remember a time before GPS, but can’t imagine it
Heart 0 Comment 0
Mountains in the distance all day
Heart 1 Comment 0
San Luis Valley
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rode over the pass into Salida just before sunset
Heart 1 Comment 0
Colorado
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 83 miles (134 km)
Total: 1,209 miles (1,946 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0