06/10/23 Luna, NM to St. Johns, AZ - Training Ride - CycleBlaze

June 10, 2023

06/10/23 Luna, NM to St. Johns, AZ

Heart 0 Comment 0

I don’t know where I’m going.  There’s a lot of sparsely populated space to cover before I get back to the trees, and I’ve come this way because there’s been reliable water at reasonable distances.  I think I’d do better with a paper map to ponder. 

It was chilly this morning and had to break out my down sweater for a while.  There was a little bit more climbing to start the day and except for two moderately steep sections to keep me honest, the rest of the day was a glorious downhill glide with dramatic changes in biomes as I dropped.  I had planned to camp at the lake just south of St. Johns, and it looked nice. But it was so warm that camping didn’t really appeal and then there was this tail wind, so I kept on going and grabbed a room in town.

Arizona!
Heart 0 Comment 0
I do, and that’s why
Heart 3 Comment 0
It’s nice in the trees
Heart 0 Comment 0
Highest elevation to date
Heart 0 Comment 0
The beginning of a 50 mile downhill
Heart 1 Comment 0
Not how I imagine Arizona
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Scenery changes as elevation drops
Heart 1 Comment 0
Springerville, Arizona
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
St. Johns
Heart 0 Comment 0
Where I’ll be going for breakfast tomorrow
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 70 miles (113 km)
Total: 707 miles (1,138 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0