Overview - 儋州→海口 Danzhou to Haikou - CycleBlaze

September 17, 2005

Overview

Danzhou to Haikou is 136 kilometers on the old highway. Plus another 15 kilometers from the Haikou city limits to my home.

I cheated and hitchiked from Chengmai to Haikou. My ride dropped me off near HaiRui Temple. About 8 kilometers from my home.

Total distance = 115.8 kilometers.

Potentially I could have done the entire 151 kilometers (which is very nearly 100 miles) but I was hosting a dinner party and, although Brian and Sasha did most of the cooking for me, I still needed to be there.

My legs feel fine. It's my arms and shoulders that hurt. And tomorrow it will be my sunburn that hurts. Two of the fingers on my left hand are still pins and needles numb 4 hours after I got off the bike. My handlebars were at slightly the wrong angle and we didn't have the tools to do anything about it. I've never had the creeping numbness past my pinkies before and it has never lasted this long before. If it hasn't gone away by the time I wake up tomorrow I will go to the hospital or something. (It took most a month to go away completely.)

After my dinner party and a great deal of scowling and prompting on Brian's part to get me to clean the kitchen there was beer, talking, and a backrub chain. (I wanted to let the maid clean up, maybe even help her clean up, but Brian felt that since it was my party, it was my responsibility to clean up.)

It was damn good.

Today's ride: 116 km (72 miles)
Total: 116 km (72 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0