Graveson to Arles: Roman ruins - Cycling Provence - CycleBlaze

June 5, 2017

Graveson to Arles: Roman ruins

Today I rode a mere 53km with 1100ft of climbing taking 5hrs to do it so this was definitely the slowest 53km I have ever done. Today was a real cycle tour day. I stopped 3 times to visit various points of interest plus take many photos. I was better with the cue sheets today not missing a turn but I did have to stop once for clarification from some locals. We started in French but the older gentleman switched to English to make it easier for me. I was wearing my Canada 150 jersey today and as we parted he said "we adore Canada". My first stop was at the Abbey St Michel de Figolet to tour, the second was in Tarascon again to tour and the third was in Fontvielle for a beer and a bite to eat. Today is a bank holiday so light traffic again but also not many opportunities for food. It was hot today but a Mistral was blowing. A Mistral is a strong NW wind which was good for me because it kept me cool, and I was heading south. According to locals mistrals last 3, 6, or 9 days and I think it started yesterday. Here's hoping it is only 3 days since I head North on Thursday. In the cooler months these winds make it are very cold.

A panorama from my hotel room this AM.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Two kids passed me on these mtn bikes yesterday but look closely they are batteried powered. Once I noticed this and I wanted to find thes kids and tell them to "suck it up" I am old enough to be your garndmother and I don't ride a battery powered bike.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Today's breakfast buffet.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A view of the abbey as I approached. I could not get a better photo because of the trees. It is still active as an abbey and a school.
Heart 0 Comment 0
In Tarascon there was a small festival on the streets, here reperesnting their medieval heritage.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Street performers is Tarascon.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Tarascon Castle from the 15th century that I toook time to tour.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A view of the Beaucaire castle across the Rhône.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The castle was used as a prison periodically. During imprisonmnet many of the prisoners carved into the wall what they could see through the narrow windows. Given that they can see the Rhône many of the carvings are ships.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A famous Camargue bull. These bulls are raised in the wild and used for meat but also bull fighting and running in this region. No worse than our rodeos.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Place Voltaire alive with families enjoying a holiday mid afternoon snack.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Arles arena built by the Romans. It has been reconsttructed and now used for bull fighting events.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The major bull fighting event is the first Sat in July. The bulls are not killed or injured rather the local "cowboys" (raseteurs) try to remove a rosette from between the horns. The bulls are used year after year and become as famous as the cowboys.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Roman theatre that dates back to the first century. The first five rows are original the remainder are reconstructed. It is still used as a theatre.
Heart 0 Comment 0
An interior view of the arena.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Me inside the arena at Arles today.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sunset from my room window last night. You can see the Rhône and some of the wall that is around the old Roman city.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 53 km (33 miles)
Total: 743 km (461 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0