Arles to Ste Marie de la Mer: Most southern point - Cycling Provence - CycleBlaze

June 6, 2017

Arles to Ste Marie de la Mer: Most southern point

I left Arles this AM about 8:30 for Ste Marie de la Mer which is the largest village in the Camargue region but only has about 3,000 citizens. I knew there was not much to see until I got here so I more or less rode a time trial for 60km to come straight here so I would have time to see the area. Normally this tour spends a rest day here but I had to take this out to make it fit between the last tour and my flight home. I am sorry about that now because there is much to see and experience here and my accommodation is amazing. The route was almost dead flat with not much wind this morning but it is howling now. The Camargue is the delta of the Rhône river where it meets the Mediterranean. Unlike Delta and Richmond BC which have become large cities this area remains very rural. The major agricultural activities are growing rice, raising horses and bulls used for competition. There are also grapes and fruit trees in the more northern parts. The main food production is of course fish since this is a sea port. There is lots of sand that comes from the Mediterranean but is also arrives on the warm Sirocco winds that blow from North Africa. This region is a birders paradise especially in spring and fall when the birds are transmitting to or from Northern Europe to Africa. I wanted to see the birds so I took a jeep tour of the area in the afternoon and we saw many. Finally I treated myself to a short massage since this place actually has a spa. Lastly I had an amazing meal tonight with red wine of course. The French do know how to cook.

The famous white Caramague horses with a cow egret on the ground. You will often see these egrets on the back of cows and horses hence the name. I did see one like that but I didn't get a photo.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I rode past this canal for the Rhône which I suspect is too shallow for big boats at this point.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A bee eating bird. This photo is from the internet but I did see one but it flew away before I took the photo.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I passed 2 stork nests before I reached St Marie de la Mer, both had chicks.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The second nest and if you look closely there is a white head to the right of mom.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Welcome to the town.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Danger bulls running in the streets.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bags of local rice. The particular specialty of the region is the black rice.
Heart 0 Comment 0
More white horses with their foals. The foals are born brown with a white blaze. They turn grey at 2 years and white at 5 years.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another magnificent bull. These bulls are smaller than Spanish bulls and have different shaped horns. The running of the bulls is a male only sport at which some men make a living. At the end of each year there is a champion "cowboy" and a champion bull. Owning a champion bull is financially rewarding. Bulls race from between the ages of 3-15 and seem to enjoythe sport. They are not deliberately hurt in anyway in this sport, accidents do happen.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Flamingos in the wild.
Heart 0 Comment 0
More flamingos.
Heart 1 Comment 0
These houses are traditional houses with reed roofs that have a mud covered in limestone crest to keep out the rain. They are always positioned with the round end into the prevailing NW (Mistral) wind and with the door at the other end. The cross on the roof is not a religious symbol but rather it is used to tie the house down in a really strong wind.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Again even more flamingos.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 60 km (37 miles)
Total: 803 km (499 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0