The road to Colonia. Day 2. - Northbound from Argentina through Brazil - CycleBlaze

December 5, 2010

The road to Colonia. Day 2.

The town of Palmira sprawls over a large area and with a grid system street lay-out one street looks like the next. Furthermore, there's no signposts, so at 7.30 on Sunday morning with few people about that I could ask directions of, I had to rely completely on my own initiative. I pick to ride a long street at a right-angle to the river or inland and gently uphill so I couldn't see far ahead and on cresting every summit the street still continued ahead without any sign of the North-South road where I would continue my journey. I spot one solitary man in a hurry cross the street and ask was this the right way to route 21. "Si senior adelante" he replies and hurriedly continues on.

There was one other bit of confusion a few kilometres out of town, though, it was more to do with me having my map inside the bag and not having looked at it recently. The road came to a fork and the road, according to the signpost, straight ahead led to a place I didn't recognise and the other road was to Carmelo which after checking the map is on the way to Colonia.

By nine I reach a petrol station and buy a cool Pepsi. As I sit on a bench outside looking at the word, Biocombustables, on the petrol pump, in the background emanating from inside the shop, a Beatles song can be heard. Mellow, on a Sunday morning listening to the twangy guitar rift and John Lennon's voice sing the familiar words of, Ticket to ride.

The town of Carmelo was only 20km and therein I passby a bakery. The two girls in attendants and a customer are a little taken aback when I enter as I'm in need of a haircut and have not shaved in a very long time. But her on the till asks me where I's from making conversation while the other cuts me a slice of spinach quiche, a slice of cheese and ham quiche, and a custard tart which they call crema here, but no matter, I leave with what later proves to be a very big lunch.

By the channel in Carmelo.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Continuing on through town until I turn onto a cobblestone street along a channel where ahead there's a boating marina. The street is lined on either side with Jacaranda trees, or trees with purple bloom. I stop and marvel at the colour and take a photo. I was glad though, when I cycled a little farther to a bridge over the channel to see a signpost for Colonia pointing over the bridge, as I hitherto wondered where I exit town.

The light wind which yesterday had been on my back, today was between a cross and a head wind coupled with the constant gentle uphills, checked my speed and by midday when I found a gateway to stop for lunch, I'd only covered 50km despite starting early enough.

Cheese and ham quiche.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Sometimes I hate my Bob-trailer and vow that my future bike will be a dedicated touring-bike. In the nineties I used a strong steel mountainbike with four panniers and how mush simpler life was. If I stopped somewhere without something to lean the bike against, I just set the bike on it's side. Now, with a stand on the bike, the weight of the trailer swings the bike around and it falls over. It puzzles me why the people at, Bob-yak, never thought a stand a useful addition to their trailer which would hold both trailer and bike firmly upright. As it is without a stand I struggle with it every time I stop, usually having to put a stone in-front of the front-wheel so the bike cannot swing round. That's in addition to the badly thoughtout mesh floor which breaks at the weld when ridden for a considerable time on dirt roads.

When I had eventually secured the bike so it wouldn't fall over and was sat comfortable on the grass getting stuck into my cheese and ham quiche, I notice on my new pedals that the right pedal has the dust-cap missing which is what happen the old pedals. Now all the dirt and dust will get in. At lease they only cost 30 pesos and will do me until I get something better.

The afternoon continued with warm cross wind and gentle rolling landscape.I had nothing to drink so was glad to reach a small place with a shop, though when I tried the door it was locked. Across the road there was a rural school and they always have wifi. I thought though that my computer hadn't worked anywhere else in Uruguay in the last few days so why would it work now. Nevertheless, I was curious and anxious to check things. There was a nice brick bus-shelter outside the school gates which provide good shade so I could see the computer screen. I press connect and it connected instantly first time. What a relief.

4pm. The shop I thought I may be able to buy a cool drink at.
Heart 0 Comment 0

After I had checked things, two women cycle-tourists turn up anxiously stopping at the shop too to buy a drink. They were from Buenos Aires and so could tell me when the ferries from Colonia run and the prices.

5pm. The road ahead to Colonia.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Nothing mush of note happen on the remaining stretch to Colonia, except that I was very thirsty when I arrived and stopped for a drink at the first service station.

Today is, I think, the last day for me seeing Uruguay by bike. I will spend a few days in Colonia before catching the SeaCat to Buenos Aires. People traveling by bicycle can chose wherever they want to cycle-tour in the Southern region of South America, most however chose the same places. I have not seen another cyclist, except for meeting a Brazilian cycle-tourist one day over two months ago and two Argentines today, which isn't many. What I'm trying to say is Uruguay is a nice country, though what I think is nice the next cyclist may not. Suffice to say just come and see.

Today's ride: 108 km (67 miles)
Total: 7,101 km (4,410 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0