Rain stops play. - Northbound from Argentina through Brazil - CycleBlaze

April 13, 2011

Rain stops play.

There's not allot interesting that can be said about a wet day: "rain stopped play" as BBC radio4 used to comment on The Cricket which didn't take place because of a Summer downpour. And cycling isn't any different is it. Most of us avoid the rain if we can: it mucks up the chain, makes the brakes spongy and generally it's just not idea to riding a bike. And so it was this morning, the rain was bucketing down here in Villarrica, but as I was in a nice comfortable hostel lastnight, I didn't need any enticement to stay the day indoors and dry.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Spot ice-cream cone, pink and orange yum yum.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lago Villarrica.
Heart 0 Comment 0

So I did make it out in the afternoon when it had eased off for a while. I wanted to take some photos or perhaps Is just bored or restless or something. Anyway I got some representative shots showing the day and relieving my boredom. Is hungry too. I would've went to the supermercado but happened to be passing a cafe that attracted me by the chalkboard outside with the day's menu. And I peeked in through over the curtained lower window seeing that the customers were local so I wouldn't be paying tourist prices. It is a typical Chilean establishment and there is a choice of meat stew or chicken. I chose the later with mash-potatoes which was tasty and filling. Pity though, I'd to endure the Telenovela in the corner.

I checked the weather forecast this evening and tomorrow is to see some improvement, while Friday and Saturday are to be sunny.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0