2004 to the present: Places unlike Europe. - Northbound from Argentina through Brazil - CycleBlaze

July 28, 2010

2004 to the present: Places unlike Europe.

  • In the Spring of the year 1999 I did a long cycletour of Scandinavia going on by ferry to Iceland where I discovered a landscape quite unlike anything I'd seen in other European countries. The first day I saw a mountain which looked like an upturned ship sinking. Another mountain which was almost a perfect pyramide. In the following days I saw wide open coastal plains, a lagoon full of icebergs and a great icecap like a long gental snowy white hill against the blue sky. I saw ragget lavafields where only mosses grew and plumes of steam rising out of the ground too. There were rapide flowing glacier-rivers which fasinated me as mush as the magestic waterfalls along their coarse. I returned to Iceland three more times. It was there on the final trip I talked with an English cyclist who went into detail on a cycletour he'd done in South America creating a desire in me to see a bit more of the world outside of Europe. So I booked a flight and in October 2004 I arrived in Buenos Aires from where I bused it down to Patagonia and set-off on a two month adventure cycling to Ushuaia. I returned to South America a second time in 2006 and again in August last, when I spent a couple of months doing short tours of a week to ten days in North West Argentina. Presently I have completed a tour South and then North through Patagonia all the way to Mendoza then across the Andes where I continued North through Chile and across the Bolivian alto plano. I'm now in the city of Salta busy preparing to set-off once again.
Piedra Parada. Chubut Province /Patagonia Argentina.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Provincial route12, Chubut Patagonia.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Ruta40/Santa Cruz Province / Patagonia
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0