Day 9 - Crosswinds - CycleBlaze

September 16, 2019

Day 9

It was a short day of trail riding today. The 26 mile figure represents all the riding I did today after I got up.  Everything was closed on Sunday, and I had to wait until this morning to purchase some of my supplies. I think there was a breeze today, but being enclosed by trees most of the time on the trail, I could not tell.  The only time I felt a breeze was when I was pedaling. The bike sure did get dusty after the short distance between stops.  

I got a very late start:  11:00 am.  It was already humid, and by 11:00, it was starting to warm up.  But the shade trees on both sides of the trail made the heat and humidity tolerable.  I rode as far as Sedalia where I stopped for the day.  Have been talking to some west-bounders, and they told of detours beyond Boonville.  Sounds like it ought to be an interesting ride.

About 7 miles out from Sedalia, I met three Westbounders who had started in St. Charles and were headed for Windsor.  They were the first westbounders to tell me about the detours due to the flooding this spring.  Some areas have shuttles available to get the bike tourists around the closed sections. At the Katy Depot, I met a group of eastbounders who are going to St. Charles, except the wife of one of them is driving the support vehicle, so, they are carrying minimum weight. I may meet them on the trail somewhere. Time will tell.

The Information Kiosk at Green Ridge, MO.
Heart 0 Comment 0
There was extra road ballast piled up next to the trail for about a mile somewhere in close to Sedalia.
Heart 1 Comment 0
A typical road crossing. Some have stop signs and others have yield signs.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Sedalia Katy Depot.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Pettis County Courthouse.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
I have no idea. Interesting architechture.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Hotel Bothwell.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Originally the First Congregational Church.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Now it is the above.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 26 miles (42 km)
Total: 486 miles (782 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Kenneth KoehnHi Paul, just wanted to tell you about 20 miles or so south of Sedalia is a town called Cole Camp. Then east of that is a town called Versailles. We have a couple of "Holdeman Mennonite" settlements in those two communities. I have a few relatives and some friends there. Wishing you continued good luck. Ken.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago