Off we go again - Costa Rica Trails - CycleBlaze

November 1, 2022

Off we go again

We left Samara after a rest day to ride mostly gravel (at least grade 3) with 5.5 serious hills.  The hills were all between 15-20% which on gravel is really tough and many were walking including me.  At least I was able to make up ground on the downhills because I rode like “a crazy Canuck”.  Gravel is tough because you are slipping, dodging potholes and bouncing around a good deal of the time.  Again it was hot as hell.  I don’t think I have ever been so wet from sweat in my life.  At the 20km point we had a fruit and snack stop and I could ring the sweat out of my gloves.  By the time we got to lunch at 37km everything on me was absolutely soaked.  There was an additional 8km from lunch to the hotel but Tim and I opted for a cold beer on the bus instead of riding.

Our lunch stop was at a beautiful, secluded beach and many went in for a swim. I ventured up to my knees to wash the dirty and grime off my lower legs.  Once at our quaint hotel many went for a swim but I opted for a cool shower.  While I was in the shower Tim did his laundry in the sink where the tap blew off and created a flood in our room.  There was no serious damage so it was mopped up and we stayed there.   Before dinner we went back to Coyote beach to take in the sunset.  On the return to the restaurant where Tim and I had pasta as a change from rice and beans we saw 2 snakes crossing the road, 1 boa constrictor and 1 rattlesnake.  Good thing we were on the bus.

Today’s route on 80% gravel. Don’t let those bumps fool you they were 15-20% grades on rough gravel.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Playa Carrillo en route
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Moving cattle again through the village.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The village of Isla was lovely with some mosaics on the walls, this is the local school.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A waterfall enroute
Heart 2 Comment 0
More carnage on the climbs.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Again with Tim in the lead
Heart 0 Comment 2
Hilary JaegerAhhh, everybody’s favourite activity “hike-a-bike”!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gail Johnson😝 Again, no thanks!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
The fence posts are living so termites nest on them
Heart 0 Comment 0
The guides making lunch at the beach. Juan Carlos makes an amazing guacamole which I am actually leaning to like. I still don’t like junks of avocado, too slimy.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The pristine beach where stopped for lunch.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Proof I got into the water at least to my knees.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Tim doing his Daniel Craig imitation coming out of the water.
Heart 1 Comment 0
More howler monkeys. I think this is a mom with 2 little ones.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This definitely a male because his family jewels are hanging out. Only the males howl.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Our place for the night.
Heart 1 Comment 0
One of many beautiful butterflies in this country
Heart 3 Comment 0
Horses on the beach before sunset
Heart 2 Comment 0
Having a beer on the beach
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sunset
Heart 3 Comment 0
Crab holes on the beach and all of the sand they throw out while digging into the sand.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Tim having a conversation with 2 of the Americans at sunset
Heart 0 Comment 0
The group after lunch today. Tim and I did not ride the last 8km.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The Boa constrictor crossing the road, I did not take this photo.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 37 km (23 miles)
Total: 67 km (42 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0