Day 7: Rest Day - Willamette Valley Covered Bridges 2022 - CycleBlaze

June 26, 2022

Day 7: Rest Day

Today is a rest day in Silverton. A much needed rest day. I felt weak and miserable in the morning.

I had a late breakfast at the Bistro 3 blocks away. The motel cost $362 for 2 nights but it does not serve breakfast and doesn't have an ice machine.

Downtown Silverton, Oregon.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I appreciate that the motel is in the middle of an interesting town. I wandered extensively through downtown Silverton but never went more than 5 blocks from the motel.

Downtown Silverton.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Downtown Silverton.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The bakery is very close to the motel but it was closed when I arrived on Saturday afternoon and closed on Sunday and Monday, so it was never open during my 2 night stay in Silverton.

The bakery is closed on Sunday and Monday.
Heart 0 Comment 1
Kelly IniguezWe are headed to Woodland tomorrow. They have a restaurant - the Woodland Biscuit Company. It is open only 9-noon on Saturday. That is it.

How do they pay the electric bill, on three hours a week? Forget the rest of their expenses.

Luckily, our B&B suite has a kitchen. We will be cooking.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

I also enjoyed gawking at the historic houses. Silverton seems to be mostly Craftsman style homes built in the early 20th century. It has been a prosperous resort town for more than a century.

Silverton has many Craftsman style houses.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Silverton.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Silverton.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltLovely houses in Silverton!
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Trinity Lutheran Church in Silverton.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I went to the little covered bridge again. It has great creek views.

The covered bridge looks like a single wide trailer from this perspective.
Heart 3 Comment 2
Scott AndersonThis is interesting. I’ve been through Silverton many times but didn’t know this was here. It was added sometime after we moved out of the area.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Wayne EstesBuilt in 2000. It's not very visible from the main street because the roof of the bridge is at about street level. It is a bridge with a covering, but the structure is all metal. So it's hard to put it in the same category as a historic covered bridge made almost entirely of wood.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Looking downstream from the covered bridge.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Looking upstream from the covered bridge.
Heart 1 Comment 0

In the peak afternoon heat I sat for 1.5 hours in the shade to watch live music as part of a Crafts festival. Attendance was poor because of the hot weather.

Live music for a crafts festival.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Evening in Silverton. I had breakfast at the Bistro.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Closeup of the building.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Dinner was at the Gallon House restaurant. They had a limited menu because it was too hot in the kitchen to run the grill.

I had an after dinner beer at Mac's Place, the oldest building in Silverton, built in 1890. It has been a public house since the 1920's.
Heart 1 Comment 0
1920's bar at Mac's Place, with the original chillers.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today had a high of 95F (35C). Hottest day of the trip. I was glad to spend most of the day in my air conditioned room.

I didn't bike at all today, but I pumped the tires and inspected the bike.

Silverton is a great place for a rest day. I appreciate when the motel is close to restaurants and shops in a charming historic town. I considered taking two rest days during this tour, but decided that Silverton is such a good place for a rest day that I should take only one rest day.

I felt much better in the evening than in the morning. I accomplished my goal of recovering. The previous two days were the most challenging days of the tour. The remainder of the tour is easy in comparison.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltGood to have a rest day!
Reply to this comment
5 months ago