Day R8: Surpassing 50km - From the Compound to the World - CycleBlaze

June 20, 2022

Day R8: Surpassing 50km

My usual daily distances on tour are a lot longer than 50km, but with the myriad of past and present restrictions as well as fitness that took a beating during lockdown, it's going to take some time to build up to that again.   In this sense, 50km becomes rather impressive today. 

Heart 0 Comment 0

It was quite an interesting ride, first went about 10km west towards the main bridge that crosses the river going north.  The weather was supposed to be rainy the whole time, but we've lucked out so far with the rainy season. 

Heart 0 Comment 0
Let's do this
Heart 0 Comment 0

Next was about 15km north then meandering towards a new shopping mall that had a Starbucks.  The challenge would be getting in.  As expected, all the entrances were fenced off and guarded.  Normally you scan a location QR code that tells the date of your latest covid test.  I couldn't find such a code then explained to the guard that I wanted to get in and find a Starbucks.  He said he didn't understand so I just walked off and then I heard him repeat 'Starbucks' in Chinese which meant he actually did, he couldn't be bothered.

Well you know me, if someone says "you can't" then it just means try harder.  So now getting in was of higher priority.  To do that, I followed the cars on my bike who were scanning a QR code to get into the parking lot.  Aha, so this was how it worked.  I scanned the QR code then biked back to the entrance with the dumbass guard.  I showed him the result, which was a 24hr valid negative covid test.  He was dumbfounded that I actually had this on my phone and asked where I got this.  But I got in regardless.

Once there it was a letdown.  All businesses were either closed or doing strict takeout only.  Normally "takeout" means you can at least walk into the store and order something first while you wait.  But not here.  You had to scan a QR code, order something online, then wait as they came out and delivered your cappuccino in a bag and extra packaging meant for delivery drivers.  That packaging would end up being thrown away straight in the trash as you sat on the steps somewhere outside to drink your capuccino like you would have done if they just let you fucking order it. 

Take me to Vegas for real
Heart 0 Comment 0

So anyway, that was that.  After such a stop, it was biking another 15 km east, then looping back south for the final 10km.  Along the way I was looking for anything open where I could order something besides this takeout, but none was to be found.

Things aren't getting back to normal.

Heart 0 Comment 0
That's my kind of road. Turned out to be a great one actually
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 52 km (32 miles)
Total: 389 km (242 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0