Day R1: One Day Early - From the Compound to the World - CycleBlaze

May 31, 2022

Day R1: One Day Early

The gate guard in a hazmat suit had no more power.  I zipped out of the compound on my bike and he made a half effort to say "Scan that QR code when you come back".  You're supposed to do it on the way out, it is a location code.  You still need a covid test every 72 hours and if you don't have one updated you're not allowed out of the compound.  They aren't exactly saying that in the news.

The weather was beautiful and warm, the best all year.  I enjoyed every minute of it because while having this weather denied in April I tried to savor it during the 2-3 minutes we did covid tests every day outside.  Now this was the beginning of the recovery compensation.  It would take many more months of this, maybe even years to offset the damages.

Shops still shut down. A pity too as I wanted to buy some water
Heart 1 Comment 0
Not sure what's happening here. Maybe the marshmellow man knows.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Who wants a haircut?
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

The streets were still quite deserted.  The big day will actually be tomorrow as for some reason we got a one day head start.  Let's see what happens then.

One of many ad-hoc bridge roadblocks
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

At one point I almost rode into a trap.  That picture above was a dead-end street and I could see the cops at the end gathered.  They spotted me and tried to block the road but I made a quick turnaround and bolted.  Some others including a security guard cursed me out in Chinese and more people joined in by screaming at me "Where's your mask?!"  Uh, I don't wear one in the 30 degree heat on a bike as there's no point and maybe you should be giving me a thumbs up for riding, not cursing.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Sadly they're out of luck. Not sure how many small businesses will go under due to this
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Taking it easy
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

There'll be a lot more of these rides to come.  Combine that with more LISS activities (low intensity steady state) such as walking and jogging, the aim is to get my fitness level back up before the group gyms reopen.

Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 16 km (10 miles)
Total: 227 km (141 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0