Day ??: Cambria to San Luis Obispo - SF to SDO 2012 - Coast Route - CycleBlaze

April 26, 2012

Day ??: Cambria to San Luis Obispo

I seem to have lost count of the date and of how many days I've been on the road - that's one goal achieved.

I didn't realise that both Steve (on a very nicely set up Salsa Fargo) and Scott (on his lightly loaded road bike) were both staying at the same Motel until the next morning when I went searching for the Laundromat and found Scott at the cafe next door downing a power breakfast. He didn't want to ride in the rain so added a rest day in Cambria - otherwise I would never have caught up. One hour and two power breakfasts later we were on the road heading to San Luis Obispo.

What a good ride: almost all downhill and almost all with a tail wind and with great company. We met a Dutch cyclist on the road who had badly blown a tyre. Scott quickly booted it with a dollar bill - nice having a professional rider come to your rescue. Sadly, it didn't last too long as I found out when I bumped into him in SLO.

Lunch in SLO and Scott was off to cover more ground. I spent the night in the hostel. Bought a rear view mirror for Turtle and had a great BBQ Rib dinner on the main street of SLO - looks like they close it down every Friday for a street market.

California Poppies: It's spring and the wildflowers are in full bloom. They are the state flower and I forgot just how much I liked them.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 41 miles (66 km)
Total: 310 miles (499 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0