Honky Tonk and BBQ - Riding in Circles - CycleBlaze

October 14, 2020

Honky Tonk and BBQ

Day 14: Wed Oct 14th

Goodlettsville, TN to Spring Hill, TN (with stop in Nashville)

Distance: 53 miles

I woke up this morning at 6 am and was on the road leaving The Grand Ole RV park at 720 am.  First I scooted on over to Waffle House and scarfed down a bowl filled with hashbrowns, scrambled eggs, and bacon to which I applied a liberal amount of Tabasco. 
Then it was on to Nashville - the Music City! 
The ride into Nashville during rush hour was less than pleasurable.  Today, in general required a high level of concentration between dodging sharp objects while steering clear of maniacal drivers on their way to work in the city.  I got my first glimpse of Nashville about 5 miles out and the views kept getting better every mile I pedaled. 

First view of Nashville. 5 miles away. Waffle house in foreground and damn McDonalds snuck into the photo!
Heart 0 Comment 2
Cynthia RostockHey Dave
Enjoying your daily journals. I would love to go to Nashville via car or airplane one day. Grandma had a girls trip to Nashville in her late 60s early 70s. Enjoy every minute of your trip.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
David AlbertTo Cynthia RostockHi Aunt Cindy - Nashville is so much fun. If you like country music or even have an appreciation for it there is a ton to do in the music city.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago

 
Coming from the north I had to pedal over the bridge that led me across the Cumberland River.  As soon as I crossed the bridge I came upon the Tennessee Titans stadium.  

Titans foosball stadium.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Then I went out to Centennial Park on the southwest side of the city.  The park itself is a large city park with several running paths and a large man made pond.  But the real reason I was there was to check out the Parthenon.  The Parthenon is an enormous and amazingly intricately built stone building that is modelled exactly to scale and looks of the Parthenon in Athens Greece.  It's quite impressive!  

The Nashville Parthenon
Heart 2 Comment 0

I also checked out both the county courthouse in Nashville as well as the Tennessee State Supreme Court which as one would expect is rather stately.  

Tennessee State Supreme Courthouse
Heart 1 Comment 0

Then I went over to Vanderbilt University which I found to be underwhelming.  The campus itself is spread out with very little in the way of central campus green space.  Then it was off to explore the country music side of Nashville mostly centered in the south Broadway area.  

Mural on side of famous Legends bar
Heart 2 Comment 0
He's alive!
Heart 0 Comment 0
The famous Ryman Auditorium
Heart 0 Comment 0

Last I got some delicious barbeque from Jack's Barbecue.  I had pulled pork with sweet and spicy barbecue, corn bread, mac n cheese, and Cole slaw for less than 14 bucks.  

Southern bar b q.
Heart 1 Comment 0


I must say Nashville is the first civilized area (that discounts natural areas) on this trip that if I had the money I could and would spend a week here.  There really is so much to see and do. 
I left town around 230 in the afternoon.  The going was just as harrowing as the coming except I also had to contend with no shoulder and single lane road construction which meant cars had to ride behind me at 13 mph for about 5 miles.  
The highlight of my departure was a nice gentleman named Geoffrey who was getting his mail as I rode past him on the southern outskirts of Nashville proper.  He asked where I was headed.  This began a long and cordial conversation.  He brought me water, a coke, and a granola bar. 
About 10 miles later I reached the swanky suburb of Franklin.  Franklin is an upscale community that has a wealthy downtown.  It also has enormously rich civil war history.  It's somewhat eerie to think but alot of blood was shed 150 years ago in Franklin. 
I rode about 30 miles south of the city to Spring Hill.  Spring Hill is also a wealthier suburb but a bit further from the city.  While in Spring Hill it started getting dark and there are no campgrounds within 15 miles.  I came upon a church called Spring Hill Church of Christ.  And there were people pulling in to park.  Upon closer inspection they had a wed night 7 PM service.  So, I went to it.  Pastor Scott is letting me camp in the front lawn of the church.  That's where I am now. 
I haven't officially checked but I think with a big day tommorow I may be able to reach 'bama.  

Today's ride: 53 miles (85 km)
Total: 737 miles (1,186 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 5
SHARON HENDRICKSONHi Dave.Its Sharon Hendrickson from Zeeland. Your mom told me about this journal and Tom and I are really enjoying "traveling" with you each day. I see you are in Spring Hill . About 45 yrs ago I lived in Columbia, TN which I think is the next town to the south. The only thing I remember about Spring Hill is that it had a large pet cemetery, I believe. There also was a commune near Columbia. My youngest son was born in the Murray County Hospital in Columbia. Columbia was famous for it's mules and celebrated them with Mule Days which I think was in the Spring
Also some historic buildings in Columbia, but I can't remember the significance.
We will continue to enjoy reading your journal. Safe travels
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
SHARON HENDRICKSONJust realized I spelled Maury County incorrectly. Maury not Murray.
Columbia also home town of President Polk.
Believe you can your his house.
But I know that's time and $.
Be safe
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Marylynn WebsterHi Dave, it is so funny seeing that you are on the same path we were! We had our picture taken with Elvis and also the Legends mural! AND we spent the night in Franklin, TN a very charming historical town. Too bad we were just a few days ahead of you. From there we headed home so you are on your own to Bama! Looking forward to the rest or your journey!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
David AlbertTo SHARON HENDRICKSONThanks Sharon! I was in Columbia today getting my wheel repaired. It's a small world but no so small riding a bike. :)
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
David AlbertTo Marylynn WebsterAh, yes, I almost forgot you guys went to Mammoth cave as well. I loved Nashville.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago