Hamilton - Missoula, MT - The cat named Chevy won't stop this tour, and neither can COVID - CycleBlaze

July 20, 2020

Hamilton - Missoula, MT

Heart 0 Comment 0

808 elevation gain

Today wasn't an inspiring day. I tried to give myself a pep talk. It was sunny, no wind, no flat tires, no problems of any kind. The day just didn't have anything going for it. I wanted to take the Bitterroot Trail all the way in. The trail has been finished since I was last bicycling into Missoula from this side. Jacinto decided to take a back road, 269/203. His road wasn't good either. Jacinto was hoping for a back road and got a back highway with lots of traffic instead.

The theme for the day was the hum of traffic on the busy four lane highway. The trail crossed back and forth a couple of times, which was difficult, given the level of traffic. The last suggested crossover, I didn't take it. For one mile, I would just stay on the highway. 93 had a good shoulder the entire distance. It was dirty, but plenty of room. I chose to come into town on South Higgins. It looped south a little bit, but there was a marked bike lane the entire distance. Jacinto stayed on a different bike path the crossed over on the northwest side.

I think today wasn't interested because we've spent so much time up in the mountains, overnighting in tiny places. The scenery was amazing and there was a sense of accomplishment from riding up the passes. Even that horrible windy day into Jackson came with a sense of pride in being able to finish.

We got the day done and now we have a day off. I didn't get lost coming into town. I wasn't happy about coming right downtown. I would have skipped Missoula all together if it had been possible. The only way to not go through Missoula would be to take the Skalkaho Highway (dirt). I considered that seriously. After the Skalkaho Steakhouse (which has lodging) The next lodging is Phillipsburg, which is 64 miles and 5,000 feet of climbing. On dirt . . . I bet it's an amazing ride. But even my midwinter sitting on the sofa ambitions weren't that strong. It's a ride for someone else.

We have a nice room at a little motel right in the middle of Missoula. It is on route, amazing that we have to go right through Missoula, but we do. Jacinto is happy because he will be able to watch the Rockies baseball team's first game tomorrow night.

One of the few unobstructed views today. Mostly it was miles and miles of businesses leading into Missoula.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I didn't know there was a ski hill in the area.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My bicycle socks both suddenly developed holes where the ankle strap hits. I don't carry many spare items, but I do have a second pair of socks.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jacinto’s photo from the bicycle bridge on Reserve. Note that he just caught the M on the side of the mountain.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 48 miles (77 km)
Total: 2,085 miles (3,355 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0