Coalville, UT - Evanston, WY - The cat named Chevy won't stop this tour, and neither can COVID - CycleBlaze

July 4, 2020

Coalville, UT - Evanston, WY

Heart 0 Comment 0

2,713 elevation gain

I just don't understand all of the animals at this motel! It's not a problem, but I've never seen so many animals traveling, ever. I went for ice this morning and a woman with a German shepard was walking through the lobby. It's so odd. Maybe there really is an animal show in the area?

Breakfast was not as good as the other Best Westerns we've been to. It seems we can depend on them to have some sort of breakfast. Grand Junction was best. They had an employee serving hot food while you said just what you wanted. Who knows when/if buffets will come back. I didn't get anything at this breakfast except yogurt. Jacinto got a couple of breakfast sandwiches. He finally ate his last burritos from Rangely this morning.

I thought I was being organized about getting out the door, but didn't leave until 8:25 AM. The last thing Jacinto did was squeeze both of the tires and tell me I was good. Hold that thought.

Bertha was on the job and directed me onto the bike path and then through town. The first 28 miles was gradually uphill, then 20 miles of gradual downhill. My problem with the start of the ride was the ups and downs. I knew Jacinto would be very happy. I find it demoralizing to gain and lose the same elevation over and over again. Jacinto loves riding the rollers. Ugh.

Chalk Creek was our first road. I don't know if the rural neighbors organized themselves or who was in charge, but there were miles and miles of American flags out in front of each house. Depending on how close together the houses were, there were flags. It was beautiful. We were still in lush, green farm country. This is a stunning part of Utah. You read so much about southern Utah, but this northern corner has excellent riding.

I was happy when the road seemed to smooth out. I had been drinking Spiz, I took a total of four Anti Fatigue capsules. New to my arsenal against tiredness was Cliff Block Shots. I had several Black Cherry flavor. They were tasty. I felt guilty for enjoying them as opposed to the stick to my teeth Perpetuem tablets. I'm sure the Perpetuem must be better for me, based on how difficult they are to choke down. I make fun of eating them, but I do feel they give me a performance boost.

I saw a number of road bike riders today. It is almost a true statement to say I saw more bicycles than vehicles. The vehicles I did see were trucks pulling ATV trailers. The trucks all gave me plenty of space. Most of the road bike riders did not return my greetings. They weren't together, but seemed to be individually 1-2 riders. They all passed me heading down the canyon. I think that these were all local riders who wanted to get to the top and back down before the afternoon headwinds. I felt bad few of the riders returned my greeting. Aren't we all pedaling? Do I look that funny, riding my loaded recumbent bike?

Two road bike guys passed me while I was stopped for a break. Not much further down the road was an intersection with a battered sign saying Evanston. What? Where is Bertha? This is not a good time to be sleeping. Obviously the sign does say Evanston. There's the dirt road that I know starts at the border. Except there's not a border sign. In the meanwhile, this road is nicely paved and curves to the right. I stopped to assess the situation. Bertha always talks to me. Out here in the big empty is not a good time to quit talking! I decided to ride down what I think is the wrong road far enough for Bertha to beep at me, that or at least see on the map I'm going the wrong way. I go a short distance and the bike feels funny. Guess what I'm thinking? Yes! Another flat! It couldn't be. We had installed a new tube and used the new tire. I only rode one day on it. What the heck?

Well. I could delay the decision on the road to take while I change the flat. I could see the two road bike riders coming back. They must have ridden to the top of the dirt piece and turned around. When they got to the corner, the first guy didn't say a word and the second one slowed long enough to throw over his shoulder, "Are you ok?" I don't think he bothered to put a foot down . . . I said I was fine. But really, I would have allowed a chivalrous man do the dirty work. Especially if he had a pump with a gauge. Here came another rider, he went past me on the pavement and didn't say a word. I hope karma gives him a flat tire. I wonder what *I've* done to deserve this karma. Last night I gave up our king room to an animal owner. Shouldn't that have built me up some good will?

I couldn't find anything in the tire. I checked the rim. The tape seems to be in place. I didn't try to fix the tube, I just put in a new one and pumped it up. I pumped and pumped and traded hands and pumped some more. Tip - kneel on the folded box that the new tube comes in to pad your knee a little. I got the tire very hard. The better to climb with. I had the bike all back together and standing up when the single road bike guy came back. Now he asks how I'm doing. Geez. Thanks a lot. I asked him which way to Evanston. He doesn't know, he's not from here. I see a car in the distance. I look at my map on the phone. I'm quite sure I need to get on the dirt road. The car driver confirms that. Off I go.

I stop a couple more times and squeeze the tire. It's good. It didn't go soft right away like the last one I changed. In a couple of miles, I was to the top. They weren't difficult miles. I was happy to be there and enjoying my day. Flat tire or not, it's been an excellent riding day.

The terrain had gradually changed from lush green to sagebrush. There had been areas of sheep and cows grazing. Just over the top was a cattle guard and an open range sign. I'd had what felt like a gentle tailwind for quite some time. Of course, if I'd been going the opposite direction, I probably wouldn't think it was gentle.

It seemed to me I had a headwind from the top, but the road curved around or the wind changed, and it because a side wind. It was never a factor for the last 20 miles, which is something I appreciate. Wind can be fierce in Wyoming.

The miles ticked by and I could see town about ten miles out. Yep! I'm ready to be there. I was expecting to ride though congestion. Perhaps because it's the 4th of July, but there was very little traffic and I didn't have any trouble with busy roads. I did take a side trip to Wendy's for chili to go. No dine in. I found my way back to the route without getting lost. Laugh if you will, but I will take my accomplishments where I can!

Most of the businesses and motels are out by the interstate. We were over a tall overpass in the old part of town. We had a big discussion about changing our reservation to the Best Western or the Quality Inn. I had enough points to stay at Quality Inn free for two days. Free is good. But there wasn't as much food in the immediate area as in the old part of town. There were two Mexican restaurants close to our original choice, the Prairie Inn. We kept the reservation there. As I bicycled, I looked left and right, seeing what was open/closed. There's regular open/closed, COVID open/closed, and 4th of July open/closed. Whew! It appears both Mexican places are closed for the day.

At the motel, the clerk confirmed that the Mexican places should be open. The diner right next door is definitely open and busy. They have dine in.

I haven't been giving a mask report lately. Coalville appeared to have town rules about masks. The three businesses we went in had signs on the door saying masks required. Not all people inside had masks. But they did have signs. Plexiglass at the motel only. As a side note, our friend in Heber, Jane, said at the movie theatre they did not put up plexiglass because a small piece was $200. instead they all wear masks.

Here, Wendy's did not have dine in. No plexiglass, but the employees wore masks. At the grocery, they had plexiglass and employees wore masks. Some customers had masks. Here at the motel they had plexiglass, no masks. This is the first place I've had someone wipe a pen off after I use it. Wayne and I had talked about that. He said he carries his own pen to sign things.

I bought two chilis at Wendys. We've both eaten one and I'm not hungry at all. Can we count that for dinner and go for a big breakfast?

Our room here is extra large. It has one wall of paneling that I'm trying to ignore. The AC doesn't seem to work real well, but we are over 6,800 feet, so it should cool off at night. The temperature was 81 when I got in at 2 PM.

We have had eight riding days in a row. I'm ready for a day off. The ride into Evanston was worth recommending - but the town doesn't look too exciting. I did ride past a busy water park with lots of kids. I saw a sign near the park that said no fireworks. I'm not sure if that means the city isn't doing fireworks or if it means people aren't allowed to shoot them off.

I have all I need for a day off. Three restaurants nearby. Ice, wi-fi, a good bed . . . I'm set. I'm leaving the tube problem for tomorrow. Let's see what we do about dinner.

The first part of the day was green.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This rock formation was across from Pineview Methodist Camp.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is supposed to be a photo of yellow wild roses. They weren't quite in bloom.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sheep grazing near the top. 7,300some feet.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Then I saw cattle. More cattle than sheep.
Heart 0 Comment 0
At the approximate top. 7,300 feet, roughly. The dirt road was excellent. It had a smoother surface than the bike path yesterday.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Free range cattle wondering why I was on their road.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Same spot, but cattle down in the draw.
Heart 0 Comment 0
There were many, many old houses yesterday and today.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Happy 4th of July!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 49 miles (79 km)
Total: 1,455 miles (2,342 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0