Rest Day - The cat named Chevy won't stop this tour, and neither can COVID - CycleBlaze

July 5, 2020

Rest Day

I love no alarm clock days! Jacinto got up first and went on a hunt for coffee. Oddly, the gas station across the street doesn't open until 9 AM. He ended up at the Pilot convenience store a couple of blocks away.

The diner next door was hopping. I heard people out in the parking lot speaking of a half hour wait. I went over and put our name on the list. They would call me when they had a table ready. The diner was working at 50% capacity. I asked our waitress if it was the holiday crowd or if they were always that busy. She said on a regular weekday, the wait might be 10-15 minutes for a table. I did mention that Don Pedro's where we ate last night seemed to be operating at full capacity. The waitress said that several restaurants in town were ignoring guidelines, but their restaurant owners were very particular about safety and she appreciated that. Our food was excellent and the prices some of the least expensive of the trip. We are going for breakfast in the morning. Spoon, I will be well fueled for the 62 mile ride!

We watched a movie on Netflix (Double Jepordy), then Jacinto went walking in flip flops to Walmart. He bought me a bottle brush. I'm afraid there might be things growing in my Spiz bottle, it had a film on it. I've scrubbed that away! He also bought me a spare tube, but it had a Schraeder valve. Jacinto seemed almost happy to make a second trip to Walmart. It's about two miles round trip. Days off are hard on him. Jacinto likes to keep moving.

I patched the tube from yesterday and pumped up the tires using Jacinto's pump with the gauge. I spent a long time talking on the phone with Jim and Genny. We do miss their company this trip. Jim did all of the routing on the second half of the tour, but isn't getting to enjoy it.

We didn't go to dinner because we have so many leftovers. Jacinto bought a six pack of beer yesterday and has four left over bottles to carry. Somehow time has passed and it's already 9 PM!

Jim said he's had some success putting a patch on the edge of a leaking patch. I'm debating about my skills. If that would be worth trying or wasting my time and a patch. I like that tube in particular because it's the only tube I have that isn't oversize. The shop in Heber only had 1.75-2.4" width. I wonder if the flat I had yesterday wasn't from the tube being a little too large and having a wrinkle in it.

From here we are back on Jim's scheduling, which is more relaxed and takes into account a gentler amount of climbing and miles. I might be eating breakfast out more often!

My fancy new bottle brush and the clean bottle.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0