Jour Trent - France on a roll -- depending on charm - CycleBlaze

July 11, 2011

Jour Trent

Today I had two priorities.

1. Laundry! God, my stuff is FILTHY! In the Loire I stayed ahead of the curve with a combination of machines and hand washing. The hand washing worked well, with my Trader Joe's detergent that I brought for the occasion of course, but that was on the Loire, where it was warm and dry enough to line dry things. But that ain't gunna work in Brittany where it was cold humid and rainy. Add that to the fact I could not find a laundry mat and....ick.

It didn't help that I lost a sock, which only left me two pairs of light cycling socks and the wool socks that my friend Tim gave me. If I had been home I would have just worn the one clean sock with one of the socks from the dirty pair so at least ONE of my feet was happy. But here, I don't know, I just felt like I would have been the weird American if I had worn one green frog sock and one white penguin sock. I'm sure they think I'm weird anyway but that would just prove it. I need to set an example for the stars and stripes. So, I carried around my one clean frog sock while the penguin socks got smellier and smellier.

Which reminds me. Tim, The wool socks you gave me have holes in the toes. I tried moving the hole to the pinky toe side so it's not so noticeable, but then the other sock got a whole on the big toe side... It's a mess! Can I get another pair?

2. My second priority was to get caught up some with the journal. Which I believe I have been successful at. And, coincidentally, some of that success has come while I have been doing laundry at the Mont San-Michel campsite!

Tomorrow I'm breaking camp and heading to the hotel. Cool!

This is what I'm talking about. One green frog sock and one white penguin sock? It's embarrassing, at least in France.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cool. Little hats for the lettuce.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heading to Mont-Saint-Michel
Heart 2 Comment 0
The back roads were so quite they had flowers growing on them!
Heart 0 Comment 0
What is this? Mont-Saint-Michel or the Florida Keys?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Mont-Saint-Michel again
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cool farm, notice Mont-Saint-Michel in the background
Heart 0 Comment 0
Mont-Saint-Michel at night
Heart 1 Comment 0
Another of Mont-Saint-Michel at night
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 50 km (31 miles)
Total: 1,652 km (1,026 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0