Jour Nuit: (I mean Huit, because Nuit means night! ;-) - France on a roll -- depending on charm - CycleBlaze

June 18, 2011

Jour Nuit: (I mean Huit, because Nuit means night! ;-)

Today I awoke to Lolli laying next to me wagging her tail. Cute! :-) What a good little dog!

After that Gabriella and I had breakfast and I was on my way. It was really awesome to be able to stay at their house.

The weather was weird today-one minute it was sunny, the next minute it would rain, then it would be sunny again... I would put on my rain jacket, and take it off, and put it back on again. GRRRR. Finally I figured out that none of the rain squalls lasted more than 15 minutes so when one came I would just get under an awning, bus stop or wide tree and sit it out. Then, as quick as it came it would be gone and the sun would be out.

Towns are so close together here it makes you feel like you are accomplishing something even if you are not really going very far by U.S. standards/distances.

I saw my first D-day site today. Pegasus Bridge. It was an important part of the success of the D-day landings. I had known about it but I did not know the extent of the mission. I'm pretty up to date on historical stuff like that so if I didn't know the full extent of it I'm sure the average Joe knows even less. No wonder a lot of people think that D-day is all about America. But we were only one part of it.

They had a movie as part of the exhibit and I have to admit I got a little chocked up, when they were talking about the guys who didn't make it back.

My "small world" thing happened at the museum. I had my wallet open while I was paying for my ticket and the French woman who took my money said, "Oh, a California driver's license, I'm from San Diego." I asked her where in San Diego and she said "El Cajon." She was born in Paris but lived in San Diego for 20 plus years. What a small world, huh?

I will end today's post with a word of advice. Just because you pick a container that LOOK'S like yogurt and is right NEXT to the yogurt, don't assume it is yogurt, because it might just be sour cream, which you will discover when you take a big dip with your spoon and dig in. I really need to learn more French the next time I come.

Lolli. That's a friendly thing to wake up to! :-)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Had a bit of a head wind today!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Now THAT is a tourist office!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Had to wait out a couple of bad spells of rain
Heart 0 Comment 0
...on the other hand, I can think of worse places to wait out a storm!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Atlantic City!? (See top sign)
Heart 0 Comment 1
Karen PoretWhy New Jersey fer hevvin sakes? 🙄
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Hmmmm? Would love to stick around and see what this is all about?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Nice bike path
Heart 0 Comment 0
There was a cool little nature center along the route. Cool how the photos are posted outside.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Pegasus Bridge. This is the original. It was replaced by one that is slightly wider.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is a sample of what the every day French person would have during the war
Heart 0 Comment 0
Now THIS is a folding bike!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Creative uses for inner tubes
Heart 0 Comment 0
A replica of the a glider used on D-day
Heart 0 Comment 0
...and the inside of the glider
Heart 0 Comment 0
The new Pegasus bridge, on the site of the old one.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 41 km (25 miles)
Total: 206 km (128 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0