Jour Douze - France on a roll -- depending on charm - CycleBlaze

June 23, 2011

Jour Douze

I continued down the coast today. Along with the D-day stuff I stopped at my first town market today in Isingy sur Mer. I just ran into it, so to speak, and took the opportunity to buy some stuff, including fruit and a sausage cooked on the grill. MMMMMmmmmm!

I also ran into another touring pair today. This time it was two from Holland on a tandem. We stopped and talked for a while and, while we were standing there the heavens opened and it RAINED really hard. Then, 10 minutes later, as fast as it started, the sun was out again!

I had great tailwinds WOOO-HOOO! It was mostly sunny and I enjoyed the ride, despite the emotional stuff around the D-day sites.

I also saw something I have never seen in my life, and never even imagined could exist. It is one of those things that I can honestly say, "only in France!" It is a bread vending machine. Yes, you heard me, a bread vending machine! Don't believe me. Look at the pictures!

Tonight I'm staying in a really nice campground. It's like a KOA on steroids, only nicer. Really it's a resort, with a nice restaurant, pool, etc right on the coast. They say it will be packed in another week after school is out but tonight I had my pick of sites. I'm really enjoying camping here. Overall the campsites are clean and well run and often close to, or even right in, town. The average price is about 8 Euros, though tonight's was more expensive at 20, thought I talked him down to 15 Euros. How you might ask? With my charm of course!

I TOLD you it was a bread vending machine. You didn't believe me did you? DID you!?
Heart 1 Comment 0
The English couple I met at the campsite. Dave and Shirley are the ones who lived in the south of England during the war. The were cool! :-)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Leaving Carentan
Heart 0 Comment 0
Church in the town with the market
Heart 0 Comment 0
At the market. MMMMM...Fruit!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Market day
Heart 0 Comment 0
What? Bart Simpson in France?
Heart 0 Comment 0
This guy was making frittes (French Fries) by hand
Heart 1 Comment 0
Market Fish Stand
Heart 0 Comment 0
Street food from the market. Inexpensive and delicious!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Look at the boats on the right. Must be low tide.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The pair from Holland
Heart 1 Comment 0
Road sign in Normandy
Heart 0 Comment 0
This statue is dedicated to world peace. Let's hope it works a little better in the future.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 61 km (38 miles)
Total: 431 km (268 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0