Story: Our first time in France - Channel to Atlantic in France - CycleBlaze

July 24, 2017

Story: Our first time in France

I never had the intention of visiting France. I'd done some travelling, but that had always been for business. One meeting room looks pretty much like any other, and a lecture hall is the same in any language. So when I had a scientific congress to attend in Birmingham, England, I was surprised that Sue, my wife, wanted to go along. At these congresses there is usually a program of events for accompanying persons to attend, and I knew she would have no trouble keeping herself busy. But when she informed me that WE would be prolonging our stay, and taking a vacation together I was disturbed at first. Didn't she know that summers were for research and that I always spent time in the lab between semesters? I got over it quickly, though, when I thought that maybe I did owe myself some time off. It had been quite a while since we had gone anywhere together, and it might be nice. I assumed that we would be visiting London and maybe touring round England a bit, maybe even visit Ireland. No, she informed me, we would be taking the ferry to Cherbourg, renting a car, and driving around France.

Sue's face fell a notch or two when the douanier waved us through without even looking at our passports. She had her newly minted booklet extended and was eager to see it filled with exotic names. "But monsieur," she begged," you haven't stamped us in." He shrugged in that wonderful Gallic way and replied " Madam, If I stamp your passport, you will be forced to leave in ninety days". I got the inkling that this place might be something out of the ordinary.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0