The Idea and Logistics - Lake Champlain, Can't Complain - CycleBlaze

The Idea and Logistics

   My buddy Rob mentioned going on a bike tour. We discussed a few things and came up with a trip around Lake Champlain. He used some vacation days and I used some retirement days. We decided on a credit card tour, splitting costs. I tried to warn him about my snoring. The plan was to drive north from Kingston, park the car in Ticonderoga then ride up to the Canadian border on the New York side. From there,we’d  head south on the lake’s Vermont side. It was a ride of about 220 miles. We had to be at Burlington on Friday, Saturday or Sunday because the bicycle ferry only runs on those days after Labor Day. We had five days to do it at a party pace and a few hills on both sides. I booked the hotels and B&B’s in advance because at some of the locations accommodations were scarce. The rooms ranged from Mom and Pop joints to fancy lakeside places, with a variety of prices to match.

  The route follows the Champlain Bikeway, https://champlainvalleynhp.org/recreation/lake-champlain-bikeways/. It also closely aligns with the northern leg of the Empire State Trail (EST) while in New York and the Western New England Greenway while in Vermont. To truly complete the Champlain Bikeway and encircle the lake we would have had to start in Whitehall, push into Canada and loop back to Whitehall. But time off and family responsibilities were a factor. A Ticonderoga loop may prove to be more than enough. We had a September 5th start, the day after Labor Day in 2023. 

   Rob is a few years younger than me and rides at a quicker pace. I have been trying to build strength with some moderate training, so hopefully he isn’t waiting around too much. Rob is riding a Trek 520 and I am astride a Priority 600. Since this is a credit card tour, I try to pack light. Three bike kits and one set of off-bike clothes, extra socks and underwears. I thought I would have to add some warmer clothes, because we’re headed north and Fall has been in the air. But the 10-day forecast now calls for warmer temperatures and thunderstorms Thursday, Friday and Saturday. (Not packing fear is a constant battle.) I also took the bike repair kit, the first aid kit, the toiletry kit, snacks and pb&j. I carried a total of 25 pounds in the rear panniers.

The Planned Champlain Loop
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0