West to Portugal on the EX112 - North from Casablanca - CycleBlaze

March 22, 2012

West to Portugal on the EX112

through Oliva de la Frontera

I didn't bother asking the price last night after agreeing to take the room, assuming like the other places I'd slept in Spain, it would be around 30 euros. It's actually 45. 

Heart 0 Comment 0

Still, the dinner I had was cheap and the owners know I feel it's a dear night: a huge bowl of yummy spaghetti, some lovely cured ham, three bottles of refreshing Cruzcampo and a dessert of chilled orange served with a few bite-size ice creams cost me just 10 euros. Fab.

I'm the only guest again - as far as I can tell. There's certainly no-one else at breakfast, which I have at just before 10 o'clock, after which my beefy host takes me up to the roof-top terrace for a panoramic view of Jerez, talking non-stop in Spanish. His hotel/restauant, La Posada de las Ciguenas, is a nice boutique place and he's gone out of his was to make me feel welcome.

Host
Heart 0 Comment 0

After three weeks the weather hasn't changed - sunshine every day. Rays are reflecting off the bright white walls of Jerez as I walk my bike up a steep alley towards one of the town's old churches with the cobbles set in squares and bordered by granite stones. It's bumpy and I don't find one flat piece as I make my way around the cute, narrow streets. 

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

My computer says nearly 5 km covered by the time I hit the road proper and head towards Portugal.

It's almost one o'clock when I got to the petrol station at the edge of town and buy some juice and a chunky Kit-Kat, something I haven't had in years. The attendant persuades me to try one of the energy bars and I eat it after cycling 25 km. It tastes something a little like a sugary Mars bar; one without the caramel bit.

It's 15 km to Oliva; then about 25 more to Villag-something. I don't stop in either place, save to take a quick snap... 

Oliva de la Frontera
Heart 1 Comment 0

Like yesterday, it's a ride to simply get from A to B, with little to see as the landscape is farmed and the road undulates in kilometer-long waves. 

My speed could be 20-30km/hr if it was reasonably level, but my speed drops to 10-15 km/hr on the long  inclines and it's hot. Phew! Basically this is not my kind of cycling; mentally and physically, it simply tires me out.

Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 55 km (34 miles)
Total: 684 km (425 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0