The Plan - North from Casablanca - CycleBlaze

The Plan

suck it and see

The basic plan is to head southeast from Casablanca into the snow-topped High Atlas Mountains, then veer north through the Middle Atlas and get a ferry from Melilla across to Mallaga, on Spain's southern coast. If you twisted my arm and asked for my time frame for getting from Casablanca to Melilla, my guess would be in the region of three weeks. But we'll see.

Morocco Overland is really for off-road motorbikes, but is OK for cyclists
Heart 0 Comment 0

To find my way, I didn't just buy one map, I bought two - GeoCenter and Michelin. I believe both include errors, but as the Michelin one appears clearer (the scale is a marginally better), it's the one that will go in my panniers. Here are sample scans of both...

Michelin
Heart 0 Comment 0
GeoCenter
Heart 0 Comment 0

I don't have a GPS unit, just a compass. Yep - old school. To help make plotting my progress a little quicker while 'on the road', the planned route (that makes it sound more thought-out than it actually is) is highlighted on double-sided black & white photocopies of the relevent sections of the Michelin map. These A4 sheets will be folded in half inside a plastic holder that pops in my barbag.

Map details have been checked against Google and are being supplemented by Morocco Overland (ISBN 978 - 84 - 9829 - 212 - 1), which will help guide me off the beaten track and help navigate the piste. The northern part of Morocco has an extensive network of donkey trails that appeal, winding as they do through the mountainous areas.

Left is a scan of areas covered in the Morocco Overland book - right is page 124
Heart 0 Comment 0
Page 124 - note the 77 km-long MS9 route running west of Quarzazate to Anezal
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0