Just down the street in Pola de Allande - North from Casablanca - CycleBlaze

April 18, 2012

Just down the street in Pola de Allande

from one hotel to another

It's no great shock to see rain falling heavily. It doesn't let up all morning and the forecast predicts more to come for a few days. I stay inside, using the laptop while letting my damp clothes dry on my bedroom radiator before deciding that it'as about time to do something. I set off to find the bus station.

There's just a bus stop in Pola de Allande and a young police officer patiently takes me there, then explains the timetable pinned up inside a café. There's only one departure and it left at 7:45 AM. So that's that.

Looking out the window of the hotel's cafe
Heart 0 Comment 0

Rain, rain, rain. Jeez. Back in the hotel's crowded, noisy café, I gaze at the last photocopy of the Michelin sheet - numbered 14 and 15 - and wonder what to do. The coastline is shown, but my plan had been to ride east, into the high peaks. It looks warmer somehow, next to the sea. 

The junction town of Tineo is about 40 km away - not far in fine weather, but a slog in the wet. All I need is a few decent days, even just a few hours of reasonable weather during each.

Heart 0 Comment 0

If it hasn't stopped by 4:00, I'll get a room for another night. Maybe I can wake up early enough for that early bus.... or maybe it might even stop raining.

Come four o'clock, someone - probably a pilgrim hiker taking shelter - has checked into the room I had, so it's a matter of traipsing down the chilly street to another hotel. It's the same format, with a busy café and restaurant below - but costing five euros more (25 euros). This one, however, includes breakfast, a good one according to the manager.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0