July 31: Grimsby to Hamilton - Cannon Ball 300 on a Cannondale (Tour 20) - 2021 🇨🇦 - CycleBlaze

July 31, 2021

July 31: Grimsby to Hamilton

Riding the Ridge road

Heart 0 Comment 0
At Sister's in Grimsby. Almost two years since the last time I loaded up the bike, once I got to the house, it took mere minutes to pop the Arkels onto the Cannondale, strap everything down and gear myself up. (Grimsby, ON)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Somewhere between Grimsby and Hamilton, the Ridge Road literally ran alongside the edge of the Niagara Escarpment offering views down into and across Hamilton, out to Lake Ontario, and even across the lake to Mississauga and Toronto. (Grimsby, ON)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Though there were cars along Ridge Road, there were quite a few cyclists, too. Unlike some places where I have toured, almost all of the cyclists either waved or called out, "Good morning." (Grimsby, ON)
Heart 0 Comment 0
In or near Hamilton, I cycled a rail-trail (former railway right-of-way) that slowly descended the escarpment and eventually into the actual city. Most of the rail-trail had tall trees overhead with all sorts of singing birds. (Hamilton, ON)
Heart 0 Comment 0
With some goodies from Sister and breakfast snacks from my hotel, I stopped a few times to sip some juice and get a bite to eat. The day was not at all strenuous, so I likely could have gone without, but it was enjoyable to do so. (Hamilton, ON)
Heart 0 Comment 0

Visitor Inn, Hamilton $×

I HAD dozed off fairly early last night so of course... was awake as soon as the sun came up. Nervous earlier this week, now I was sxcited to get cycling. 

Not wanting to get to Sister's too early, I just listened to Fresh Air on CBC while I snacked on my tomato, pepper and lettuce salad. I went to get the hotel's breakfast which was bagged snacks but I packed them for the road so I wouldn't have to worry about finding a place.

Finally by 8 am I couldn't wait any longer so I carted my few belongings out to the car, checked out and got onto the QEW southbound. I suppose that highway is always busy, but being the Saturday of a long weekend might have added to the traffic. Whatever the reason, though traffic was moving quickly, there was a lot of it. It was about 30 minutes to get to Grimsby, which has noticeably grown in the last two years (before Covid).

Over the Casablanca exit, onto the service road then around to Princess Blvd, and there was Sister's house! It was so nice to see her after so long. With the pandemic still on the mind, we kept our distance but the visit was long overdue. I hardly recognized the Niece (also two years older) who was heading to a track meet.

We caught up while I re-assembled the bike. I had pulled off the front wheel and twisted the handlebars so it fit into the Civic. Then I popped the Arkels onto the rack, and re-organized a few items in the bags both for convenience and balance.

As it approached 10 am, I warmed up the gps with my route for the first day of Tour 20, I hopped onto the bike and with CBC playing on my handlebar radio... I was off to the races.

At the end of the first street was the actual bike route and immediately I saw other cyclists. For the full time I cycled, there were cyclists every five or so minutes. I headed to Grimsby's old downtown then crossed the QEW before starting the climb up to the top of the escarpment. Having seen that it was quite a steep climb, I was ready to work for it. Luckily, there was a small paved median all the way up which was a good thing since the road was so narrow and had quite heavy traffic. I geared down to my easiest gear and just paced myself and worked to the top. I came to a bend in the road expecting to see yet more climbing (that is what it is like in European mountains) but no, I had made it. I was expecting to walk but didn't. Maybe I am in better shape than I thought.

At the top of the climb the route swung to the right (north) and for quite a while snaked along the top of the escarpment. At times traffic was busy but not bad at all. There were breathtaking views down into the cities along Lake Ontario and I could usually see the towers of downtown Toronto way off in the distance. The water was deep blue, the sky a pale blue and below me were buildings but also a lot of greenery. It was striking. I was not expecting such beauty on today's ride.

Then it got even better. Into Hamilton, the route followed a rail-trail which descended the escarpment under a canopy of greenery and singing birds. Occasionally a cyclist, jogger or walker would come along. Under the trees there was no wind, and the route was a long descent into the city. Great riding.

Emerging into the city, I was impressed to find that there was a designated bike route which often included separated paths. So, manoeuvring through the city was easy. Some areas were pretty, some not quite as pretty, but overall, I was quite impressed considering what you see when you cross the bridge and see the steel mills.

The route meandered around some more until I had arrived at the hotel. I had really taken my time so it was almost 2 pm, which is a late arrival for me. My room was ready and I was allowed to bring my bike right up the elevator and into the very nice room.

Now I have to do my normal online search for a suitable nearby resturant. I want to rest a wee bit and get changed but then will head out for an early dinner. As easy as the day was, I am not sure how I will feel with several consecutive longer days of riding. And tomorrow it is supposed to pour rain all day. We shall see.

There seems to be an area called Westdale not far from here so I chose a recommended restaurant call the Bean Bar. I used my gps to make sure I got there before my food was cold and to make sure I could find my way back to my hotel. Up and around an old-style, and beautiful stone high school, my walk meandered through a few tree-lined streets all of which had nice older brick homes - the kind of streets I like in southern Ontario towns and cities, unlike the endless copycat houses jammed into new subdivisions these days.

When I emerged into Westdale after about a fifteen minute walk, I was greeted by numerous restaurants along a tree lined boulevard, and many of the restaurants had covered tables not unlike what I have seen in so many European cities. My mind got to thinking. I went up to my restaurant, apologized for having asked them to pack my meal as a take-out, but asked if it would be alright for me to eat in their outdoor area. Yes, for sure, was the answer.

Their menu had looked tasty so I had ordered their special club sandwich, which was like a cross between a regular club sandwich and a super-stepped-up panini. It was to-die-for delicious. It came with the most delicious fries. When I was in speaking with the staff, I noticed a 'real' espresso machine, so I asked if the barista was in (yes) so asked if I could have a cappaccino after my meal.

Not being as hungry as I thought, I ate half of the meal, and had no room for the cake that came with the special. I did have the capp, and it was delicious. Just what I needed to end the day. The cake would have to wait, and I didn't even know what kind it was for I had asked them to surprise me.

Being so close to my hotel, I didn't really neede my gps and within another fifteen minutes I was back to my room. My next 'task' was to search the cable tv channels for TSN 5 which would be covering tomorrow's Hungarian F1 race. Unfortunatrely, they only had TSN 2 and TSN 4. Sadly, yet another mssed race when the Verstappen-Hamilton fight is just heating up.

Wanting to rest myself, I spent the evening watching a bit of news then watching the next two episodes of a British series that I have been watching - Professor T. It is quirky, brilliant and delightful, with moments of sadness and absolute hilarity. Wonderfully written.

Today's ride: 44 km (27 miles)
Total: 44 km (27 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0