July 30: This is getting real - Cannon Ball 300 on a Cannondale (Tour 20) - 2021 🇨🇦 - CycleBlaze

July 30, 2021

July 30: This is getting real

Driving south from Cochrane to Oakville to get into position

Monte Carlo Inn, Oakville $97

AFTER the jitters of the past few days and even yesterday's nervousness, I decided that this morning and the day would be as relaxed as possible. So, unlike my normal regimented get-up-and-go attitude, I just waited til I was awake (Neko the cat was stirring and fussing around the house which woke me up) which was just past 5:30 am. Of course, it was more than light enough outside - I don't like to drive in the dark during the summer for fear of striking a moose. They are way bigger than a horse and my Civic would lose the battle.

Since everything was already packed into my panniers and Tailrider it was a matter of minutes to have them in the car. I was rolling around 6 am, heading straight down Highway 11 south with CBC's Morning North to inform me along the way.

As has been the norm lately, though Cochrane is quite a way north of Toronto, there is now a lot of traffic along this corridor which continued to increase as I passed through the Temiskaming Shores area, through North Bay, Muskoka, then finally Toronto.

Though I was not being strict with my time, the one time point I had to follow was to be in Etobicoke between 12 noon and 5 pm. A few weeks ago I had brought in my ailing espresso machine - the Breville Barista Express - to have an experienced pro determine whether it was the boiler, the pump or the valve assembly. It was the pump, so with the new one installed, I had to pick it up. When Redi the owner found out I was hreading on a cycling tour he got quite excited. An Italian by birth, he follows the big races and is a cyclist himself.

With the machine safely stowed I manoeuvred through Etobicoke and Mississauga along routes that avoided the Friday long-weekend traffic, popping out past the worst of the tangles and before long I was into Oakville and my hotel which is just off of the QEW. Not a pretty area by any stretch of the imagination, but the hotel is quite decent and they had no problem whatsoever with me carrying my Cannondale into the room for safekeeping overnight. Awesome. I shall rest easy.

The Monte Carlo Inn, Oakville, had no problem with me bringing my bike inside for the night. I assured them that it was clean and I would be very careful not to cause any damage through the hallways or room. I do have a front wheel - I just left it in the car so I don't have to fuss with installing and removing it while here. The bike is a 2000 Cannondale F1000SL, but I have updated it through the years with a Brooks saddle, Jones Bars, Deore LX brakes, Deore crankset, fenders and racks.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0