August 20, 2023 - All Systems *GO* - Portus Cale's Atlantic Coast (Tour 24) - 2023 🇵🇹 - CycleBlaze

August 20, 2023

August 20, 2023 - All Systems *GO*

Bikes and gear all packed

MY head's a spinnin'. This 'first' has been in the making since 2006 when Alex was born. My 'little boy' is now taller than me. I can't believe this time has come! Two days and  counting. Yes, TWO DAYS 

Alex has planned a route, researched places to see and restaurants to try. He is looking forward to sights and sounds, the historic, the significant, the tasty foods. Our time threads will cross my tour in April/May of this year, and others including my 2003 Grand Tour, and the Irvine family tour of 1982. Many times, many threads, many memories... more memories comin' up.

I have the folding bikes packed which was a bit of a chore since I have not done so in a few years. I have to admit I did not experience much joy in that task. There was far more dismantling than I remembered to get them into their suitcases, which means a pile of work when we get to Lisbon on Wednesday. Then a pile more to return. In addition to the bike cases, there is a duffel with the gear that did not fit in with the bikes and, of course, we have our carry-ons (panniers). Enough gear, considering. 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0