PRE-TOUR SHAKEDOWN - Canadian "Heavy Rescue" Solo Tour 2021 - "Detoured Again" - CycleBlaze

July 27, 2021

PRE-TOUR SHAKEDOWN

Today I decided to do a pre-tour shakedown of my Long Haul Trucker.  This was my first tour where I had to ship the bike to the start.  A common thing for many, but not me.  I used shipbikes.com to help me coordinate the shipment.  I purchased their FedEx-approved large XL cardboard bike box.  The bike traveled without a hitch via FedEx Ground from Pennsylvania to Seattle in six days.   FedEx provided excellent tracking updates too.

The bike was reassembled by Westside Bicycle in West Seattle.  The bike was ready for pickup the day after arriving - thanks guys.

The pre-tour shakedown ride was to Vashon Island WA, a short ferry ride from West Seattle.   The 48-mile ride and ferry boat trip was an outstanding test of the rebuild, especially the drivetrain.   Vashon Island is a very hilly place, in fact a local told me the island has more elevation gain than Pikes Peak.  No, I cannot confirm this information only to say the island has some steep terrain.  It is very beautiful and calm place with nice people and good coffee.

Here are a few images from Vashon Island:

Strava Link: https://strava.app.link/Qo3sn6wsgib

J

Heart 2 Comment 0
Two Heavy Duty Wreckers
Heart 1 Comment 0
Point Robinson Lighthouse - closed due to COVID
Heart 1 Comment 1
Wendy WillisBeautiful!
There is nothing like seeing a place on foot or a bike in your case.
You see things from a different perspective and it really is amazing.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 1
Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0