ABOUT - PLAN B - WASHINGTON STATE - Canadian "Heavy Rescue" Solo Tour 2021 - "Detoured Again" - CycleBlaze

July 12, 2021

ABOUT - PLAN B - WASHINGTON STATE

Canadian Heavy Rescue Goes South of the Border

UPDATE - July 21, 2021:  

Due to the uncertainty of the Covid (Delta Variant) and the growing wildfires in British Columbia and Alberta, I've decided to explore PLAN B - "South of the Border ~ Washington State.  

The decision not to ride the originally-planned route wasn't easy.  The tour was planned nearly two years ago with a lot of excitement and anticipation.  But, a lot has happened and is continuing to happen; I want to side on the side of caution.

So, my 2021 tour still begins in West Seattle, WA, with my youngest son, Dan.   We will travel north for two overnights (Ebey and Larrabee State Parks) before separating on Day 3 in Bellingham.  I will continue on to Sumas, WA, near the Canadian Border.   From Sumas the route goes eastward (staying in Washington State) to Glacier, WA and hopefully to and Artist Point.

After U-turning, I will head down and over to tour the perimeter of San Juan ISLAND and Olympic National Park.   If time allows I'm hoping to venture across the Border by ferry to visit Victoria, BC.   

The tour will end by attending the Gigantic Bicycle Festival.   Should be a fun time and maybe a Century ride with Dan and Louise.  I hope you follow along with PLAN B!   I am confident that we’ll have good and scenic ride!   

Click Here:  Interactive Maps

Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Daniel SpanglerHeck yes! Washington State has so much to 'see.' While I understand the sadness with not executing your Canada Launch- I know that you will enjoy the Wonders of Washington.
Do not forget a CONCERT with Brandon when you return from your adventure. No better way to end a 'tour' than listening to Tame Impala at sunset at the Gorge outdoor Amphitheater.

Link to 'Elephant' by Tame Impala (an adventure song if I've ever heard one. Make sure to listen LOUD): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LnKUD_OztRE
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
brandon spanglerPlan B is still a plan!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Tamora StumEnjoy the Ride. Plan B sounds just as nice!!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago