Day 11 - Astoria to Manzanita - Riding the California Dream - CycleBlaze

September 20, 2022

Day 11 - Astoria to Manzanita

This is why I’m here


Heart 0 Comment 0

After a day of relaxation I felt restored and ready to go. Our good weather was holding and we woke to a bright and sunny, though cold, morning. 

Our route moved inland and followed the Lewis and Clark river for about 10 miles, then cut over back to the coast and dropped into Seaside.  

There, we rode the Prom (promenade) that follows the beach for a couple of miles. I was riding mostly alone today, but met a couple of women in the group on the Prom and chatted a bit before we all rode off on our own again. 

A lotus “field” in Warrenton.
Heart 4 Comment 1
Lynda ThompsonWow, that's a lot of lotus!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Crossing the Necanicum River as I rode into Seaside.
Heart 2 Comment 0
An informative sign about the Prom in Seaside.
Heart 1 Comment 0
View from the Prom.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Leaving Seaside, the route joined up with Hwy 101 south and stayed on the highway until Cannon Beach, where I veered off into the quaint town. Along the way, the ocean views were breathtaking, and I felt that this, this day and this ride, was why I had come. 

Hoping to find others on the tour — and also find a good coffee shop — to stop for lunch, I rode up and down the Cannon Beach’s Main Street, which was filled with tourists. I didn’t find anyone from the tour, but did stumble upon Insomnia Coffee, and figured that sounded just right. I ordered a latte that turned out to be the best tasting coffee drink I’ve had in a long time. And they were okay with me eating my own lunch at one of their tables. 

The interior of Insomnia Coffee. Very friendly and great coffee.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Rachael AndersonGlad you found some good coffee and are having such a great day!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

As I was eating, I saw a couple of compatriots and waved them over. So the three of us ended up leaving Cannon beach together, meeting up with yet two more on the climb out of town. Lucky me, I had someone to take my picture on front of Haystack Rock. 

Haystack Rock in the background.
Heart 8 Comment 0

Not long after, I encountered my first tunnel. The signed warned those traveling by car that flashing lights indicated bicyclists in the tunnel. It took me a bit to figure out how to activate the lights — there’s a button similar to a crosswalk button on a pole a few yards from the entrance. I pushed the button and started riding, but I was going uphill and moving slowly and a couple cars passed me inside the tunnel, which felt really unsafe, so I moved to the narrow raised pedestrian walkway and walked my bike the rest of the way.  

Heart 2 Comment 0
Another place I walked my bike rather than compete with the fast Hwy 101 traffic.
Heart 4 Comment 1
Rachael AndersonI’m glad to hear you’re being careful!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
One of the breathtaking views I mentioned above.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Looking straight down on the water from the top of a cliff.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Rachael AndersonBeautiful photo!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Finally, I reached camp. Turned out we had a couple of yurts and I was one of only 2 women who elected to sleep indoors that night. Camping is not usually my first choice. 

Heart 1 Comment 0
A few of the guys. From left to right: Steve, Grant, Scott, Mac, and Bob. Missing only Marty from this picture.
Heart 2 Comment 0
In this picture, from left to right: John, Togan, Linda, Bekah, and Steve. John and Bekah are the tour leaders.
Heart 0 Comment 0

There was a beautiful sunset that night. Sharing a few pictures below. 

Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 7 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0

Today's ride: 47 miles (76 km)
Total: 455 miles (732 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Rachael AndersonWe’ve biked along the Oregon coast many times. I’m glad you are enjoying it!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kathleen JonesNow that was a gorgeous day.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Amber StarfireTo Kathleen JonesYes, it truly was.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago