Rest day: Ales to Anduze - South from Burgundy - CycleBlaze

June 13, 2016

Rest day: Ales to Anduze

Morning comes and I'm still tired. I have been hammering on now for an entire week, so I figure its time for some R-n-R. And I know just the spot. Fifteen kilometers away is the village of Anduze, a place I've visited before, and that I liked. So I take my time this morning packing up, and chug over the small hills to Anduze. The camp ground where I've stayed before is still there, albeit with new owners, but its as nice as ever. I get my tent set up, and get my laundry into the machine. While the wash is running, I peddle back into the village to a bistro for lunch. A nice salade Niçoise (tuna) and a beer.

Charlot the cat kept me company for lunch. He didn't even beg for some tuna!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Back to camp to hang out my laundry, then a short nap. To while away the rest of the afternoon I took a ride on the little steam train that runs from Anduze to St. Jean du Gard. Lovely secenery, but smokey when passing through the tunnels that lie on the route.

From the train.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The locomotive was detatched at the end of the line for water and coal.
Heart 0 Comment 0

After getting back to camp, I called Sue to see how things were progressing in Burgundy. Still raining up there, and wouldn't you know as soon as I rang off the rain started in Anduze. Back to the tent to get my wash in, and wait out the rain. I dozed for a bit, and when the rain slacked off, I got out and went to the shower block for a warm water bath. The rain had finished by the time I was out of the shower, so I walked back to the village for supper. I had my duck dinner watching the beginnngs of a football match (the Euro is on) and wandered back to my tent to sleep.

Today's ride: 15 km (9 miles)
Total: 652 km (405 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0