Buying a new bicycle in LA, CA - Burgers and spacecraft - CycleBlaze

July 5, 2018

Buying a new bicycle in LA, CA

Touring with a cheap bicycle has it's advantages. Today's flight to LA was a good example. I had the option of taking my bicycle as oversized checked luggage, in which case they would have charged me $150. So I chose to leave it at the airport and buy a new one for $99.

But it required quite a bit of labour: Removing my carrier, pedals and front fork brackets in Boston. Riding the bus and metro from the airport in LA to the nearest Walmart super center to buy a new bicycle. And then it took another 2 hours to configure it properly.

The Mystic River. There is an excellent crime drama film with the same name.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This guy has built a HiFi system into his bicycle.
Heart 1 Comment 0
For flying, I consolidated my 5 pieces of luggage into this box. It was a tight fit, so I compressed the contents with my straps. Then I used a lot of clear tape to secure it even further.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 39 km (24 miles)
Total: 2,886 km (1,792 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0