Training: March 5 - Breaking the Cycle - CycleBlaze

March 20, 2024

Training: March 5

Today is the first day of spring, but it doesn't feel like it in Rochester, NY: snow fell a couple of days ago, and more is coming this week.  However, a couple of weeks ago it was sunny and got into the 60s.  On March 5th I took advantage of the weather, hopped on one of the old bikes and went for a 5-hour ride.  Rochester--like many places in our country--has some great trails.  I like riding the canal trail.  I went from Brighton through Pittsford, Bushnell's Basin, past Fairport, close to Macedon.  Along the way, I saw some grandiose, large homes--some with docks and boats.  I passed people out strolling, walking dogs, jogging, enjoying drinks from bars in Schoen Place and Fairport.  I passed by more humble homes and trailer parks.  I saw a cardboard "bed" where someone had apparently slept under the bridge.   In one community I passed a unique outhouse in a hollowed out tree.  

There are as many ways to live as there are to enjoy a sunny day.  But almost all of us need shelter, food, and water to survive.  As I noted in a previous entry, in 1886 Munger became one of the first to ride a bicycle across the country.  During the 111 day trip he saw the uneven distribution of the nation's prosperity.  He saw extreme wealth and extreme poverty.  If inequity is undesirable--and data indicate that it is--we have a lot of work to do.  I'm afraid we haven't become a more economically equitable society since Munger's ride.

Old Bike on the Canal, March 5th
Heart 1 Comment 0

On the way back, I stopped in an Irish Pub in Fairport (beer works as a magical recovery potion for my legs).  Another guy road up and got a drink.  We struck up a conversation, and it turns out he's been riding his bicycle every day--through rain, snow, summer and winter--all year long for about 20 years.  I got a lot of great advice.  

Side note: for those of you who are concerned about my butt: it survived 5 hours in the saddle, but one of my next gear purchases will be padded bike pants.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0