Spring: Training - Breaking the Cycle - CycleBlaze

March 20, 2024

Spring: Training

Spring has sprung.  The season of awakening, renewal, budding life, fresh starts, and hope--a lot of what this ride is about.  In my house, it means my daughter's birthday.  For sports fans, March Madness and baseball.   But I'm not talking about the Spring training, rather, I'm going to share a little of my own.  First, I've always been a believer in cross-training: what we've done to youth sports, namely forcing a singular, year-round focus from toddler through college, has led to more injuries, earlier burnout, and less joy.  Also, I don't enjoy riding in freezing weather:).   So, this winter I've been getting into a boxing gym about twice a week.  When the temp gets up into the 40s, I'll jog.  In fact, four days ago I joined in the Running of the Green, a 5-mile race in Rochester, NY:

Running of the Green 2024
Heart 0 Comment 0

To say I've never been a good runner is an understatement.  This past week I finished in the bottom third--people more than 20 years my senior and 45 years younger than I beat my time.  That's a bit humbling.  Yet, I hit my modest goal.  Moreover, with just little increases, for example jogging about once a week as opposed to once a month, I've realized substantial improvement.  I'm still a below-average runner--that's one reason I'm not running across the country:).  The point is, this spring my weekly training regimen will include two long rides (40-80 miles each), one 3 mile jog, and a little boxing.  In May I will also do a couple of 100 mile rides.  Spring has sprung--enjoy it. 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0