Gear: Helmet - Breaking the Cycle - CycleBlaze

March 18, 2024

Gear: Helmet

First, I'm no gear expert.  I've been an invited speaker on issues of poverty, featured in a book about solutions to homelessness; in other words, some consider me an expert on topics around extreme poverty.  But when it comes to bike gear I'm a novice--don't listen to me.  In fact, until about a week ago, I was using my old skateboard helmet:

The Old Skateboard Helmet
Heart 1 Comment 0

However, especially considering the training and the ride I'll be doing, protecting the old brain cell is not something I want to mess around with.  I came across Virginia Tech's helmet ratings ( https://www.helmet.beam.vt.edu/bicycle-helmet-ratings.html ).  Some articles and bike-shop reps. point out that, of course, the exact helmet depends on the kind of riding, e.g. mountain, road, touring, etc.  Then it's price, personal style, etc.  I went with the  Bontrager Circuit Wavecel: it got a 5-star rating from VA Tech, and it happened to be on sale.  Once a helmet receives the 5-star rating the differences may amount to splitting hairs...literally.  

Heart 2 Comment 2
Karen PoretAnd, Keith ( Bontrager) actually lives three blocks away from me, plus, he’s a nice guy..Good purchase!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Gordon BrownTo Karen PoretThank you for this--small world, and the internet makes it smaller:).
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Karen PoretAwesome Bontrager pick!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago