A Day off - In Brittany it only rains on the idiots. - CycleBlaze

August 11, 2018

A Day off

I didn't want to ride far today. One gets like that after a week on the road, so I rose late, ate a leisurely breakfast and picked a spot close to Quimper that looked like it might be interesting. Locronan is listed as "one of the most beautiful villages in France" which is something dreamed up by the ministry of tourism to get people to notice these spots. I suppose there's a committee that goes around looking at villages and judging them for their beauty. Anyway, it looked promising so I headed off in that direction. I stopped in Plogonnec to do laundry and after I got a sandwich in a bar in the center of the village.

I ate on the steps of the village church.
Heart 0 Comment 0

It was a very short ride to Locronan from there and I found a restaurant/hotel with a room at the entrance to the village. After showering, I went out to explore.

The village is indeed charming with stone houses on cobbled streets
Heart 1 Comment 0
Interesting doorway.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The views from the village aren't bad, either.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Gargoyle on the church.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Eccentric placement for a door.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Buskers finished for the day.
Heart 1 Comment 0
There are quite a few art galleries and shops in town. I bought a painting from Marie Jaouan in her gallery.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Not all the buildings are old. Carved dates are not always accurate, either.
Heart 0 Comment 0
"The most beautiful place in the world is here"
Heart 0 Comment 0

Dinner at the hotel was oysters and choucroute de la mer which I couldn't finish. 

Today's ride: 20 km (12 miles)
Total: 530 km (329 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Suzanne GibsonHi Keith, I'm very much enjoying your ride and pictures from Brittany! My husband and I toured there 8 years ago (pre-ebike days) and it brings back memories.

Have any of the enclos paroissiaux been on your route yet? They're quite impressive. Here a page from my Brittany journal when we were in Saint Thégonnec and Guilmiliau, showing the enclos: https://www.cycleblaze.com/journals/2010summerfrance/morlaix-sizun-taking-it-for-granite/
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Keith KleinTo Suzanne GibsonHi Suzanne,
I got to St. Thegonnac a couple ans ago. Now to get caught up with this journal!
Thanks for reading. I'm glad you like it.
Cheers,
Keith
Reply to this comment
5 years ago