Equipment - A rather short introduction to Welsh mountains - CycleBlaze

Equipment

Such that it is

Given that I conceived, planned, and booked this mini-tour in a few hours the night before setting off, I was pretty much sticking to my basic, but tested kit. This consists of -

  • My bike. As mentioned, this is a pretty basic commuter hybrid modified, slightly amateurishly, for touring. If anybody's interested its actual make is (absurdly) Hawk Woodland - needless to say if you tried to ride it in a woodland you'd end up in hospital. Actually, it suits me rather well and I'm regularly pleased with how it holds up to the rigours of carrying heavy loads on the road. The frame is heavy-ish, but indestructible, steel; the geometry upright; and the tyres narrow enough that I can get up a goodish speed while still having enough tread to make minor off-roading possible. When loaded, the heaviness of the frame becomes negligable and the whole thing is pretty stable. About the only thing that can bother me is the gearing, which is probably still rather too high for touring (especially in mountainous terrain).
  • My tent is a far more proper, a Wild Country duolite I got cheap on ebay. This is a brilliant tent: very light (2.4kg), super quick to put up and (as I found out) incredibly robust. It's a good size for one person (but would be very cramped for two). Its only downside is its packed size, which is a little on the large size.
  • My sleeping bag is a Vango Venom 225, which is one of the cheapest down bags I could find. It's really pretty good, and I've yet to not feel overheated inside it (although I sleep ridiculously hot) - and is also almost comically light (700g!). For the mat I have a self inflating multimat thing, which is good but rather heavy (1.1kg).
  • My little hiker transformation bag. Together with the bungee straps this allows me to shift everything apart from my tool kit from my pannier to my back, and hike properly!
  • My pannier bags are cheapo, definitely non-waterproof Amacco things. I can fit a fair bit in the back one though, and get my tent, sleeping bag, food and water, clothes and tools inside. The mat I lash on top with bungee straps. Everything water-sensitive gets wrapped in plastic. Into my front pannier bag goes valuable stuff, books and maps.
  • Lots of food (about 1kg of pizza!) and 1.5 litres of water.
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0