Riding on the train to go cycling. - A French Meander: seeking Bordeaux - CycleBlaze

June 5, 2018

Riding on the train to go cycling.

The train opens its doors to welcome the rare passengers who are traveling to Nevers.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I have been chomping at the bit to get out on a real cycle tour since , well, since my last tour, if you know what I mean. Family tragedy in the passing of my dad ruined spring for me and getting things in order around the house didn't speed my re-entry into the touring life. But finally all is behind me at least for now and I have a window of opportunity before I need to attend to the mundane side of life once more. I think Sue sensed this as she was practically begging me to get on my bike, so with her support I rode out of our house and into the world this morning. As usual I rode to Dijon to catch a train and that got me all the way to Orléans. I could have gone further by train, but I really wanted to stretch my legs on the bike, so I took to the Loire bike route and found a lovely hotel/restaurant in Meung-sur-Loire where I will spend the night.

The view from my room into the courtyard of the hotel.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I ate dinner in the hotel restaurant, terrine  of trout, a fish from the river, and an assortment of desserts.

Today's ride: 38 km (24 miles)
Total: 38 km (24 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Suzanne GibsonSounds like a good start! Especially the terrine of trout :)
Have fun!
Reply to this comment
5 years ago