Touristic interlude: Adršpach rocks - Bohemian Rhapsody - CycleBlaze

August 14, 2019

Touristic interlude: Adršpach rocks

They rock

I slept very well - I was slightly worried about the train and road passing so close to the camp, but it was extremely quiet at night. After breakfast in the morning, I figured I wanted to do some sightseeing - time felt less tight now - so I thought I'd check out the Adršpach rocks.

I pedalled the 2km or so back to the rocks, which were much quieter early in the morning. I swung down to the station and attached my bike at the side of an information cabin, and got in the queue to buy tickets - only to have a confusing back-and-forth with the woman on the gate repeatedly pointing me somewhere vaguely outside. Eventually I figured out they wanted me to move my bike - not particularly obvious, as it wasn't in any way in the way. Sigh, I moved it the bare minimum behind the corner and chained it up in as prominent a place as I could. A bit pointless!

Anyway, the rocks themselves are amazing and well worth seeing. First I wondered around the little lake, which is very picturesque, but not a path on the rock field itself.

The Good Solider Švejk - I truly was in the Czech lands
Heart 0 Comment 0
Big rock, outside the park
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The small lake
Heart 0 Comment 0
A couple getting married. Looks perfect here - an hour or so later the park was heaving with people, and they looked amusingly out of place
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Tress growing out of the apparently bare rock
Heart 0 Comment 0
Nineteenth century graphiti. Look at that penmanship!
Heart 0 Comment 0
The "sugar cube" - something like 3 times the diameter at the top compared to the bottom
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Make sure to leave a stick to prop it up
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
They really are huge!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Thunder rock. Apparently some, ahem, Englishmen decided to spend a night in the rockfield in the nineteenth century. There was a massive thunderstorm, and they sheltered under this rock, and carved these symbols in it as proof.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The head of Goethe
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The "Rock Chapel". I was disappointed by the lack of music memorabilia.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0