Blue Ridge Parkway End 2 End Day 1- Skyline Drive - Blue Ridge Parkway End to End (BRPE2E) - CycleBlaze

June 23, 2022

Blue Ridge Parkway End 2 End Day 1- Skyline Drive

by Josh and George

The BRPE2E home team
Heart 3 Comment 0

Josh

Today was day number one in our journey. While the forecast changed slightly from rain to fog, it didn't mean we didn't get soaked. The first 25 miles of the ride were essentially in super thick fog that made visibility low and soaked us both to the bone. We climbed about 3800 feet during that time. It never really got too steep just long and grinding. 

We met Madeleine for our first SAG stop around mile 25. She was hanging out reading a book as the sun finally started to peak through the clouds. She saw us coming down the mountain and immediately sprung into action to help get us filled up. 

The next 30 miles were kind of rolling, relative to the rest of the ride, until the climb into Big Meadows. We again met our SAG team and had an excellent lunch. 

During the last half of the ride the sun was finally out and shining. Until this point we really hadn't any great overlook views due to the fog socking us in. Once the fog cleared the views didn't disappoint. When plausible (ie not descending at 40+mph) I rode into most of the overlooks to catch some views as I passed through.

Danielle and AB caught up with Madeleine and did our final SAG stop around mile 80. We had a perfectly shaded spot with some wind to cool us down. From there we only had to climb about 1800 feet over the last 25 miles and it went pretty quick. We finished with all our SAG team cheering for us as we descended to the Southern gate of Skyline Drive. 

I didn't realize that Skyline Drive was such a destination for people all across the country. I ended the day seeing license plates from: Florida, Georgia, South Carolina, North Carolina, Virginia, West Virginia, Delaware, PA, New Jersey, New York, Connecticut, Massachusetts, Vermont, Maine, New Hampshire, Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Michigan, Minnesota, Wisconsin, Nebraska, Missouri, Arkansas, Louisiana, Colorado, Texas, Kentucky, Montana,  Utah, and California. Also our Canadien friends were visiting too, eh? I spotted Nova Scotia and Alberta.

Now for today's stats: 

- Max speed: 47.8 mph, average speed 15.4.

- PBJ sandwiches, 3. Packs of cheetos, 3. Pickle Juice, 5. Cherry Coke, 2. Regular Coke, 1. Slices of last night's Ledo's pizza, 4 (they're really tiny). Fig newtons, 2. Gatorade gummy chews, 2.

- 4,911 calories

- Average HR 137, Max HR 167

- Number of other cyclists spotted, 6 (4 North Bound and 2 South Bound).

- Avg Cadence, 82. Total revolutions 34,440

- Wildlife Count: Adult deer, 3 . Fawns, 2. Turkey, 1. Peregrine Falcon, 1. Squirrels, yes. Bobcats, you'll have to ask George.

- Number of times stopped by flagger men so crews could clear fallen trees from the night before, 2 (each during a descent, dang!).

- Fee to ride on Skyline drive, $15

George

While Josh was doing an excellent job recounting today's events (he claims to believe he isn't a good writer- phew-wee to that) I was busy out in our hotel's parking lot using baby wipes to clean a ton of dried mountain "seaweed" which was coating my bike.  Josh didn't have any on his, and I have no idea what I ran through but it was disgusting.  Let's just say the baby wipes looked like used baby wipes after that job was done.  Anyhow, it's sparkling now and resting up for tomorrow right next to my bed.

I couldn't keep up with Josh most of the time and could only average 14.4 mph, which made his overall riding time about 25 minutes faster than mine.  But I gave it my all for 7 plus hours and kept just enough in the tank so I can try a repeat performance tomorrow.  Neither Josh nor I have ever attempted back to back 100 mile rides so it will be interesting to see if there is a dip in the energy levels and speed tomorrow... once again, stay tuned to find out.

I want to thank my beautiful daughter Madeline for all her help today.  She is basically giving up a week of her summer to follow her old dad around as he pedals to and fro, meeting up in random spots to provide food and a moment's respite before setting back out to meet him elsewhere.  I couldn't do it without you, Madeline- thanks and I love you!  And of course the same things hold true for Team-Mom Danielle and Annabelle.  Annabelle kept us laughing all day with her stuffed giraffe, and Danielle provided some killer PB&H (honey) sandwiches to stave off the bonk.

I'm ready to go to sleep but I've got to mention this- I was literally attacked by a bobcat on a descent today!  Josh was about 10 seconds in front of me and he didn't see it.  But when I came by it was coiled up and sprang at me with it's 2 front paws out.  It was only about 6 feet from me, and I could clearly see the little black tufts of hair at the ear tips.  It was my favorite memory of stage 1.

1 down, 6 to go!

Rest stop 1… Fritos and Cheetos
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 106 miles (171 km)
Total: 106 miles (171 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0