Kit - Find The River - CycleBlaze

Kit

The usual geeky list

I put much less thought - read neurotic worry - into what I would bring along this year. My choices, good (Thermarest matress) and bad (garlic bulb?) had been thoroughly honed over the two weeks (and 7 wild camps) in Sweden, often some distance from what I think of as civilization (i.e. a place to buy dime bars). In some cases - like my repair kit - I simply had to pick up the pannier that I carry on my practice rides.

Here's my modified kit list:

  • Mattress. Thermarest neoair venture (+ patching kit). This was a special buy for the last time, and despite my continuous worries about it getting punctured, it really seems quite tough. It's also actually more comfortable than some beds I could mention. Also one somewhat crappy travel pillow, which tends to deflate in the night.
  • Tent. Again my Wild Country DuoLite, which I've had for years now. It's a great tent, a bit bulky in volume but pretty light, with lots of space for one and able to withstand seriously bad weather. One downside is it's not exactly stealthy, but I tend to only camp wild in proper cover. My sleeping bag is a Vango Venom down bag and I have a silk liner - the combination of which is very (some might say unnecessarily) warm.
  • Clothes. Three pairs of trousers, 3x padded shorts, lots of socks (including waterproof socks), cycle gloves, a few T-shirts including two Merino wool T shirt. A fleece layers, a cashmere jumper and a light waterproof jacket. I was (generally) wearing some of these at any one time. The Merino wool T shirts were my top discovery from last time - they really are comfortable in all weathers, dry fast, and are absolutely the least disgusting having been worn for 5 days in a row without washing.
  • Stove. Since it worked so well last time, I stuck to my dead simple solid fuel hexamine burners. Sophisticated they are not, and the fuel is admittedly apparently unobtainable outside the UK (though very cheap here), but they are extremely simple and reliable to use, even in very cold or windy weather. And the whole package is tiny and very light. I wouldn't rely on it on any tour longer than a few weeks, but for one of this length seemed the minimum of fuss.
  • Food. My inventiveness didn't really improve this year. Again packed pasta, dense sources, packets of olives, salt and chilli flakes. I also packed some English cheese because I love bringing coals to Newcastle, but left the sodding garlic at home this time. Lots of spare chocolate, sweets, and emergency maltloaf was also stuffed into various panniers.
  • Repair kit including spare tubes, spokes, brake pads, screwdriver, wrenches, allen and torx keys, spokey and chain tool. Spare nipples were left at home this time, pointless to bring them. Two puncture repair kits. Also tenacious tape, zip ties, string, scissors, pens and batteries.
  • Other hardware - mosquito coils, small lamp, solar gadget charger.
  • Maps and compass. I took with me a couple of Michelin "local" maps (1:150K) for France, and a "Zoom" map (1:200K) covering a worrying large swathe of France and the black Forest. I also got hold of ADCF (German cycling club) maps (1:150K) for the Rhine and Mosel. Astonishingly, the latter claimed to be waterproof.
  • Kindle and mp3 player. Tickets and documents.£10 indestructible phone. A wodge of sterling for emergencies.
  • Sun tan lotion, mozzy repellent, bandages and plasters, painkillers and washbag.
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0