Keith has wheels again: Garmisch Partenkirchen hospital day 5 - Poking Around Europe 3.0 - CycleBlaze

September 20, 2016

Keith has wheels again: Garmisch Partenkirchen hospital day 5

Filling in for Kathleen on the blog today. First of all a big thank you to everyone who contacted us through the blog or by email. Very much appreciated and a real lift for the patient.

Kathleen was a bit surprised at the level of pain post surgery and has been pretty uncomfortable the last 24 hours. Should get better soon - easy for me to say.

As part of the unfolding Plan B I took the bus from the hospital to the train station and managed, unaided, to purchase a ticket to Mittenwald about 20 Kms up the track. Usually I need assistance or guidance from my travelling partner to do this type of thing.

So the train is about to pull away in a few minutes. Mittenwald is where Kathleen took her tumble. My duties today include picking up the 2 bikes and return by train to Garmisch-Partenkirchen to the hotel.

I have one more night in the hotel I am in then on to the 5th hotel here since last Wednesday...hopefully, or maybe look for a tent. This is a busy town right now with conferences and Octoberfest and is fairly close to Munich. Hiking is very big here with Whistler like surroundings. And of course skiing in the winter. The Olympics were held here I think in 1936. That I will have to confirm. Just arriving in Mittenwald now.

Picking up the bikes went smoothly involving a kilometre or so walk. I took a spin through Mittenwald which is a pretty little town quite busy with tourists then another walk back for Kathleen's bike. My ears are still ringing after passing about 300 school kids in the tunnel at the train station. I commandeered a young school girl to help me take one of the bikes out of the elevator. I think she got a kick out of assisting an elderly Canadian trying to man-handle 2 bikes out of the elevator. "From Canada" she said to her friends with a smile.

Since the day of the spill the weather has changed - over cast with some rain... So we really haven't missed much not being on the bikes.

Back in Garmisch-Partenkirchen ! Time to muscle the bikes out. Cost of the train one way was only 4.50 euros. On the way back I was tight for time and planned to pay on the train. The attendant missed me somehow so when I was off loading the bikes I offered to pay. She was just finishing her shift and couldn't be bothered.

On my way back to the hotel I popped into a small gasthaus just around the corner from the hotel and was able to get a room for the next 3 nights and more if necessary. Shower is across the hall but that's fine and at bargain price of 50 Euros dropping a whole euro to 49 Euros after the first night. Accommodation costs for 3 star hotels have been ranging between 70 -100 euros (1 euro = 1.48 approximately).

Back to the hospital to see how the patient is doing and get those insurance forms submitted. Patient feeling better I think and now has a roommate to keep her company. Too bad they don't speak the same language. They will find a way.

Sent from my iPhone

Mittenwald.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lonesome pony. Where is Kathleen?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0