Salmo, BC - Ione, WA - British Columbia 2019 - CycleBlaze

July 28, 2019

Salmo, BC - Ione, WA

Heart 0 Comment 0
I want credit for every mile. We rode back into town for dinner.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Three of us agreed to go to the Dragonfly for breakfast at 7:30 - it was warming up already (53 degrees) and we were out the door at 7. We were the second table seated, which was a good thing as the place filled up quickly. I thought the food was a little slow in coming. My black forest ham omelet wasn't near as generous with meat as my sandwich yesterday . . but it certainly wasn't oatmeal.

We were down the road as soon as possible under blue skies. We had two choices today. Straight down Highway 31, for 39 miles. Or we could take a side trip around Sullivan Lake, for an extra 5 miles and 100 feet of climbing. We agreed to make that decision at the turn.

Today was basically flat, except for a stiff granny gear climb up to the border. The tall pine trees cast shadows across the road. Those areas were a little chilly. The sunny spots felt warmer and warmer as the day passed. I ate a Perpetuum tablet half way up the climb. I'm surprised my legs are feeling a little tired. Perhaps it's the cumulative effect of touring all summer. Jim has planned this as a very ridable trip mileage/effort wise. We just had another day off. The next two days are quite flat. I'm entertaining the idea of a different route on the very last day. But for some reason Bertha (RWGPS) didn't talk to me today. I received written messages on when to turn, but no voice commands. If I'm taking my intended route the last day - Bertha needs to talk!

I was too busy conquering the climb to worry about my passport being misspelled. Plus, I stopped for that photo of the no pot sign and got behind the others, then I went in the entry area and felt real silly having to turn around. I got over to the correct area, but the stop sign had a red light, so I stopped. But the agent motioned me forward. I had left behind my apple and red pepper this morning because I didn't want to make more trouble for myself than necessary. They didn't ask anything about fruit. I had to take off my helmet and glasses and sit back on my bicycle. Except I hardly sat down when the agent gave my passport back. I don't know what questions they asked Jim and Genny before I got there. They asked me if I had $10,000. or more and if I had any drugs or weapons. It went pretty quick. I could have had my apple. They didn't ask about fruit.

We had more flat riding before decision time about Sullivan Lake. We were almost to the turn when we saw Greg bicycling the other direction. Of course I had to note that he had a nice Surly and panniers that I wasn't familiar with (REI brand). Greg was just starting out on a three week trip . . . I'm envious.

At this point I was feeling fat and lazy - it's much easier to talk about riding extra miles during the evening with my feet up. When on the road, I like to get from A to B. I was surprised when Genny stopped at the turn. I didn't disagree to checking out the lake. Highway 31 was perfectly acceptable riding, the low traffic pattern continues, but country roads are almost always nice.

Off we went. There would be a climb up, away from the lake, but let's enjoy the ride. I noticed a mile marker 17 and watched them count down to town. We got to Sullivan Lake. It was much larger than I expected. I made a point to check out the beach area - no girls or guys in skimpy suits. One guy in board shorts, smoking. Plus a family unloading their car . . .

We rode along the lake for four miles, from mile 32-36 of the day's ride. Then the elevation profile shows a big up, but it wasn't so bad, mostly more of a gradual 3% climb. That works for me. We had a big downhill and then came to the famous (to me) red bridge to Ione. I remember clearly riding this way with Oren and not getting a clear shot of the bridge. Tomorrow we will come back over it. I didn't like riding over the metal grate surface. It made my bicycle seat vibrate in an unpleasant manner.

I was the one in charge here because this was my suggested route. But Bertha wasn't talking. Written directions were to take McGinnis to Riverside. Yes, that did work. We arrived directly at the motel. It looked nice, lots of flowers outside always seems hopeful. The lady said we couldn't check in yet, because the computer wasn't working. We decided to go into town and find something to eat. There was supposed to be a pizza place and two bar/grills. After circling all three, we ended up at the grocery store deli. We didn't even make it inside before two women stopped us and asked about our trip. They said they'd done Cycle Oregon years ago and they knew for sure we would be wanting ice cream, the servings inside were generous. I got almost to the deli before I was stopped by a muscled man in his 20's who said he'd just finished riding the Pacific Coast. We exchanged a few details about his trip and ours, before he was on his way.

We bought some items at the deli and sat at the inside seating. I caught myself just before putting my travel purse on the window ledge. I was horrified at the number of dead insects and the layer of dirt in a food service area. I looked around. The floor under the temporary shelving on wheels was far more brown dirt than clean floor. I've never seen a grocery store so dirty. but if I didn't look around and just ate my food, it was fine.

We also had ice cream. The servings were indeed huge. I had huckleberry and Denali moose tracks. Jim and Genny did shopping for dinner and breakfast in one shot. I went on back to the motel as I was expecting a 3 PM business call. I was sure Jacinto would want to walk to the store later.

Jacinto came in at 4 PM - he had flat in the morning. He didn't fix it right there, but tried to ride and just keep pumping it up. Jacinto met Greg and talked for a couple of minutes. He didn't have any trouble at the border and got my apple to me. Jacinto saw an old lady (I didn't ask for an age description for fear she's my age) at the swim beach. No young girls in bikinis. He finally gave up six miles out of town and fixed the flat. He found a wire and a big staple. But couldn't find the hole in the tube, interestingly. The tire is still holding air at this point. Jacinto is just now filling the sink with water to find the leak in the tube. He's been to the store and brought me fried fish because the chicken strips looked too well done.

We have a great room with a private balcony looking over the river. It's hot outside right now, but I did sit outside for my phone call. We have only two more riding days . . . . damn.

We sat outside at the attractive seating area and enjoyed the view while eating the food we had gathered up at the grocery store. Jim tried to find Bomb Burritos, but the closest they had was XXL Burritos. He didn't comment on the flavor, but ate two. I don't think they were so XXL. The mosquitoes were out, but the management had kindly left a can of bug spray on the table. The Riverside Motel is in a lovely setting next to the river (can you guess, by the name?). Ask for room 106 to get the private balcony and a sofa. We lucked out.

Another barn photo today.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A cute little Canadian calf, nursing.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I have an old bicycle for yard art, this rancher has an old buggy. Similar.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Even though pot is legal in both Canada and the USA, it can't go over the border.
Heart 0 Comment 0
We have met fewer than ten touring cyclists. Greg is headed out for three weeks. It sounds like a great tour.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sullivan Lake as seen from the bridge.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bill - blue berries - don't tell me we passed up real blueberries - I will be sad.Bill says Cascade Oregon grapes - not too tasty.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jacinto's photo of typical scenery of the day.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jacinto's photo of Sullivan Lake.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jacinto at the border.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 46 miles (74 km)
Total: 823 miles (1,324 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0