Centennial Trail ride - British Columbia 2019 - CycleBlaze

July 31, 2019

Centennial Trail ride

Heart 0 Comment 0

We have an extra day to kill, waiting for our appointment to pick up Jacinto's new bike. He floated the idea of having a rest day, but I wanted to ride. We'll have plenty of rest days on the long drive to Seattle and then back home.

Gregory Garceau's in law's live in Spokane Valley. He's very familiar with the area. His 86 year old FIL goes to Mike's Donuts daily for a donut with pink frosting with sprinkles. There must be something to the idea of longevity and donuts. CG Tom Swanson rides his bike to Dunkin' Donuts every day for a donut and coffee. I give more credit to the daily bike ride than to the donut part. But I do love a good apple fritter. Jacinto hardly had his eyes open and coffee made before we were out the door on the way to Mike's Donuts.

I was hoping for an early start with the heat, but by the time we got back and I ate breakfast, it was 9:30. I had plotted a nice, easy route on the bike path, repeating the ride towards Coeur d'Alene. I did find a new little piece to ride, on the State Line Trail, which would make a loop.

Today is a week day. I saw far more riders out than last time. I think because it was later in the day. There were a number of people walking. I saw one loaded bicycle with four red panniers. Everyone else was out for a day ride. There were plenty of retired people on cruiser bikes.

The sky was blue and the winds were light. It was a great day for a bike ride. I stopped only once, at a potty. I did not get lost while navigating the new section. The path was only two miles and the rest of the connecting route was on streets.

I stopped again at Wendy's to eat for lunch. Jacinto was off on his bike ride. He uses Komoot for routing. He plotted his route by pulling up Spokane Valley on his phone. Then he spread his fingers out to the sides and out up/down. That gave him a 50 mile route, that he had no idea what it was - just moving his fingers around. But when he got back, Jacinto was happy with his route. He had pavement and dirt, highway riding, country riding and city riding.

I loaded my bike in the van. It won't stay there, we will need to rearrange, but there's no use taking it to the room. The riding is done. Darn.

We are going to the movie tonight. Fast and Furious is new tonight, but it will be too busy. We are going to see John Wick 3. Let's see if they have good popcorn here.

Heart 0 Comment 0
I don’t get any until after my ride. I will be riding fast today!
Heart 0 Comment 0
A bicycle is involved, Mike’s Donuts, recommended by Gregory Garceau.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Part of the path had tall bushes on both sides.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A view from the Centennial Bike Path.
Heart 0 Comment 0
There was a small section along the bike path with withered plants and red berries.
Heart 0 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltRose. Berries are called rose hips. High in vitamin C but not juicy and a bit seedy.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Today's ride: 28 miles (45 km)
Total: 959 miles (1,543 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Darrell RoyLooking for wheel alignment and toe in on a trike and somehow I ended up here reading your journal🙂. Interesting, and I see you are still writing as of a couple of days ago (aug ,2021) I will have to read a few more now………D
Reply to this comment
2 years ago